Skye Fairy Glen, Uig

26 11 2013

Back in August, during Richard and my Skye trip, we had quite a few spare days when we weren’t going hill-walking and went touristing instead. This was a visit to the spectacular Fairy Glen at Uig on the north-west of the island.

Fairy Glen Start Drumlins

Combination of my film and Richard’s digi-photos (click on for full size/resolution)

As we drove around a corner of the little road above Uig, rounding a corner this stunning scene met our eyes (Richard’s photo)…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After we’d picked our jaws up off the dashboard, we found some parking and got out to explore – along with a few hundred other tourists it has to be said – a very popular area! Our first priority was to reach what I called ‘The Fairy Tower’…

Fairy Castle Approach

On arrival at the ridge, we were surprised by how narrow it actually was (Richard’s photos now)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is a cleft in the crag of the tower which enables you to climb to the top…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It looked quite a long way down to the road…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We then headed back down to explore the rest of the area – Richard posing for a photo (not really) and lots of colourful tourists! (my photos now)

Fairy Tower, Richard & Tourists

We then headed off towards the next interesting hump which provided more angles of the Fairy Tower ridge…

Fairy Tower & Slumped Conical Hill(portrait)

Fairy Tower & Pointy Lump

Fairy Glen Tower & Humps

Fairy Tower (dark)

We then wandered off through the valley behind the tower to the next, higher escarpment…

Fairy Glen Valley

Fairy Glen Escarpment

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Amazing how trees can grow on such steep crag (Richard’s photo)

Richard’s superb zoom to a distant waterfall on the back of the Trotternish Ridge – my camera doesn’t zoom half as far with the current lens I have on…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The waterfall is much further away with my camera in the photo below… I couldn’t believe the complexity of the drumlins in this glen from the escarpment above (my photos now)…

Fairy Glen to Trotternish Ridge

Fairy Glen Drumlins & Road

Towards the end of the escarpment ridge, we split up and went our separate ways. I’d seen that the ridge continued on until it hit the road and really wanted to come back round the initial road corner again to have the stunning initial sight bursting into view again, whereas Richard just wanted to cut straight back down to the car… He took these great photos which show the land-slippage…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and a more secretive view of the tower through the fairy woods…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Whereas I was more concerned with the little lochan below the tower…

Fairy Glen Lochan into Sun

Fairy Glen Lochan Ripples

Fairy Glen Tower Over Lochan

A superb place – well worth an hour or so if you’re on the island :-)

Actions

Information

18 responses

2 12 2013
fedupofuserids

Interesting looking place Carol, will have to pay it a visit :)
Had a Rabbies tour bus pulled in?

3 12 2013
mountaincoward

I think it was a Rabbies minibus – well spotted :-)

10 12 2013
fedupofuserids

At least that explains why it was so busy !
Cheers Simon

29 11 2013
McEff

Hi Carol. That’s a fascinating place. I spent a night in the youth hostel at Uig back in 1977 (I think it has since burnt down) but I’ve never heard of the Fairy Glen. I certainly missed that one. When I return to Skye I shall certainly give it a visit.
Cheers, Alen

29 11 2013
mountaincoward

I’m pretty sure there is still a Youth Hostel at Uig – there’s certainly a sign for it – it’s more or less up by the Fairy Glen anyway… Maybe the old one was somewhere down in the town?

29 11 2013
McEff

I’ve just looked at Bing maps and it appears to be in the same place. But it definitely burned down. If I recall correctly, it was being decorated and a blow-torch was left unattended.
Have just spent a long time searching the internet and come across some pictures of it one fire in 1978. That’s a year after my visit so I can’t get the blame.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/edk7/7558618246/

29 11 2013
mountaincoward

they must have rebuilt it then (wasn’t me either – I was up in the Hebrides in 1978 ;-) )

29 11 2013
lanceleuven

Wow, what a bizarre landscape! It’s looks great fun though. :-)

29 11 2013
mountaincoward

It’s deservedly popular – really spectacular. But then, I suppose a lot of Skye is!

27 11 2013
CairnStoner

Wow looks stunning. We used to catch the ferry to Skye from Benbecula when I was a kid but don’t think we ever went here. Somewhere to add to the list.

29 11 2013
mountaincoward

Forgive me if you’ve already told me but – how come you were on Benbecula as a kid? Soldier’s son? I was there for nearly 5 years mid to late 70s in the WRAC – loved the place and have often thought about moving up there.

29 11 2013
CairnStoner

My dad worked for the DOE maintaining the RAF base. Was probably about the same time, would have been around 75 – 79.
From what I remember it was a great place and I’d like to go back one day and see it again.

29 11 2013
mountaincoward

That’s exactly when I was there :-) I hung around mostly with the RAF lads so you never know, I might have known him. I was going back every year until I started Munroing in earnest – now it’s 10 years since I’ve been :-( I fully intend to re-visit next summer though :-)
Carol.

27 11 2013
smackedpentax

I have been there myself many years ago…I seem to remember it was busy then…

27 11 2013
bob

I’ve been there years ago Carol. Its a great place. In your photos all the grass mounds are latticed by countless generations of sheep and rabbit tracks. I don’t remember any human paths then though. Used to be corncrakes at night in the fields around Uig when you were trying to get to sleep in the campsite competing with ‘Ace of Spades’ blasting at full volume out the pub by the pier.. Motorhead were very popular up in Skye then and that was a biker pub.

27 11 2013
mountaincoward

I’d have been down the pub – love Motorhead and go to see them many a year (they come round every Autumn).

26 11 2013
chrissiedixie

Gosh, what an amazing looking place! Wish we’d known that was there when we went to catch the ferry from Uig, last Easter. :)

27 11 2013
mountaincoward

I’ve been up to Skye loads of times and never knew about it until I put my Betwys-y-Coed Fairy Glen post out. Many people commented that they’d come on to look at it thinking it was ‘the other Fairy Glen’ so I asked them where they meant…

Leave a Reply

