2011 Stats Post – Updated and Final

12 12 2011

Feel free to add your own in the comments section below…

Here are my Scottish statistics for the year. I haven’t counted any of my English or Welsh hills…

Munros: 44
Tops: 31
Corbetts: 4
Grahams: 1

Hill days: 27
so an average of roughly 3 peaks per walk

Miles walked/cycled: 410 Average just over 15 per day
Feet of ascent: 109,914′ Average 3848′ per day

Car miles: 11100 – petrol £1372

Chalet/holiday let nights: 30 – £1530
Hotels/B&Bs nights: 18 – £ 684
Youth Hostel nights: 6 – £ 70
Bothy nights: 3 – £nowt

Munros to go: 37

What an expensive hobby this is!

Actions

Information

14 responses

24 01 2012
Isabel Smith

Hi Carol
Your 2011 stats are amazing as the weather was awful and living here in Kirriemuir I did not do as many munros as you! The west coast is having horrendous weather still so the hills there will certainly be wet until April/May so wet boots for sure. I will look out for you on the hills and look forward to hearing about your last munros.
Every good wish for 2012.

Like

27 01 2012
mountaincoward

Thanks Isabel – you certainly had a terrible year up there weather-wise but, for a change, I actually missed a lot of the really bad bits. I had a great week-long trip in April when I finished off all the Glen Carron Munros and then got another pretty good week the week I met you around Braemar area. I think I only had one and a half wet days that week.

It’s the dreaded Cuillin in May though! 😮

Hope you have a good 2012 as well and I’ll certainly look out for you,
Carol.

Like

17 12 2011
bob

Its meant to be an enjoyable hobby Carol:).
On a more serious note there is not much you can do about the petrol costs.
I did a lot of my Munro,s with a walking club so that helped as there was usually 3 or 4 in each car and always someone to do the hills with.
We also camped,wild camped or used bothies in winter which was either free or cheap.
Camping is fine if you have a warm sleeping bag and showers are available. You can buy a two person Eurohike Backpacker tent for around £35 quid.Its roomy for one inside plus a rucksack.A lot of basic campsites are still under a fiver a night.
Still a shock to see what it costs now though,If you add in meals,walking gear and other equipment…not much change of four grand.Wow!

Like

19 12 2011
mountaincoward

I’m not really complaining but the one thing which really irritates me is when I pay a lot for a trip and something comes along to spoil my totals for that particular trip – usually the weather! I should probably toughen up and go up in anything it throws at me but I find some conditions plain scary, e.g. high winds. I also never see the point in setting off if it’s a day of total heavy rain – I don’t mind showers though.

As for camping, I do have a tent which I bought a couple of years ago and haven’t used yet. I just can’t face getting cold, wet and tired on the hill all day and then being cramped up with my wet gear in a tent all night and having to put wet gear back on in the morning. I’m also a bit feeble and I think it would impact on my performance the next day if I didn’t get warm and rested properly. So bothies are better for me if they have a fireplace and you can get a nice blaze going.

Like

15 12 2011
goth_angel

That’s definitely a busy year! I can’t face totting up the cost of it all!

Like

15 12 2011
mountaincoward

I sometimes wish I hadn’t – last year was nearly as bad. But I don’t mind the cost while I’m getting things done – it’s those weeks when you traipse all the way up there, pay for fuel and accommodation and get b***r all done! I hate those! 😦

Like

15 12 2011
David Seòras

that is pretty impressive stats from a very poor year weather wise. Not quite finished myself yet – hope to get another couple trips in before year end but so far;
Munros – 1
Corbetts – 2
Grahams – 33
Hewitts – 1

Distance walked – 528km
Hill days – 31
Averaging around 1 hill and 17km per day

(these Grahams are tough!)

Car mileage/fuel cost – no idea although a lot lot less than yourself 🙂

Like

15 12 2011
mountaincoward

I bet those Grahams are tough! The one good thing I find about Munros nowadays is, because they’re so frequented, there are getting to be good paths. Us English like a good path! 😉
Carol.

Like

15 12 2011
fedupofuserids

How many pairs of boots ?

Like

15 12 2011
mountaincoward

Well I haven’t worn any out… but 2 pairs really as I always need to take 2 pairs so that one can spend a whole day in a drying room somewhere drying out while I soak the others! Especially this year!
Carol.

Like

12 12 2011
Alan Bellis

I like the “Bothy nights: 3 – £nowt” 🙂
Well done with your Munro count….in a pretty bad year weather wise.

Like

13 12 2011
mountaincoward

come on – work your stats out – they’re bound to be good! 😉

Like

12 12 2011
Paul Shorrock

Blimey – a busy year!! On that average you should crack the final 38 this coming year! Which one will you do last?

Like

13 12 2011
mountaincoward

That’s why I was hoping to get up to do 3 more this year as otherwise, next year is going to be as full-on and hard as this year. It wasn’t so much the mileage and effort – it was the planning!

Which Munro am I saving for last? Well, rest assured, it will no doubt be something exceedingly nasty on the Skye Cuillin – whatever I can’t face until I really, really have to (mind you, that’s quite a few of them!) There’s actually some doubt about whether I’ll actually get all the Skye ones done next year as I have 10 of those to do and I really do think I’ll need near-perfect weather for those. I’m certainly not doing any of them in heavy rain or high winds!

I certainly hope next year’s Scottish weather is better!
Carol.

Like

Leave a Reply

