Circles, Monoliths & Tors

27 06 2012

Who is the best architect – man or nature? This post features some of the stone circles, standing stones and tors to be found in Britain (you can hover over the pictures to see what/where they are)…

Man’s Contribution:


one of those stones looks like a druid!


Wonder what they were trying to say with this one?


The above stone with Richard for scale below

Nature’s Work:

And of course, there’s that great architect, the sea…

You decide…

Actions

Information

8 responses

3 07 2012
Susie

I was just talking about Brimham rocks and bilberries yesterday! Great childhood memories – must take my two little scramblers there one of these days.

Like

3 07 2012
mountaincoward

Bilberrying is one of my favourite things to do when I’m out and delays me on many a walk. Once, while my Mum & me were bilberrying at Brimham, a woman pulled her children away and told them not to pick berries as they can be dangerous! Wonder why she thought we were both stuffing our faces with them?

Like

30 06 2012
bob

A great collection Carol.Never seen any pictures of Brimham rocks before. anywhere.That was a real surprise

Like

1 07 2012
mountaincoward

Brimham’s a great place to visit – excellent bilberries (blaeberries to you guys?) all over the site too! 🙂 I’ve scrambled up a few of the easier ones in the past but was good at getting stuck on them and needing help to get back down!

Like

28 06 2012
stravaigerjohn

Lovely pictures. Growing up near Dartmoor I used to like to see the circles and rows.

Like

1 07 2012
mountaincoward

I love the tors on Dartmoor too – we have tors on our moors but much smaller…

Like

27 06 2012
Paul Shorrock

Great pics – lovely contrast between the natural and the man-made!

I bet I’m not the only reader who was ticking off the ones already visited 🙂

Like

27 06 2012
mountaincoward

My favourite is definitely that Hebridean standing stone which looks like they’re giving visitors (or invaders in those days) the finger! 😉

Like

Leave a Reply

