Yet More Breaking News :-(

2 07 2012

Well, my wrist is thinking about getting better but still poorly… however, it isn’t feeling quite so alone any more as I’ve gone and broken my big toe to match. The surgeon is going to monitor it for a week before deciding whether he’ll need to operate on it as, again, it’s a very nasty break 😦

So, now I’m completely housebound and can’t go out for a walk even. I just have one more report and photos to write up (when I can type two-handed) and then it’s off to the archives I think.

I can see a lot more photos only posts coming out for a couple of months…

I sure hope I can get back to the hills (on foot) one day…

Actions

Information

15 responses

5 07 2012
johndburns

Sorry you’ve been in the wars. You must have got really bored if you had to read my blog!

I think everyone needs indoor hobbies as well as outdoor, one day you get too old for the hills. (Long time off for you though.)

Like

5 07 2012
mountaincoward

Can you suggest any?

Your blog certainly wasn’t boring – I got the link from Scottishhills and your ‘Crowley’ post. Love the granny post and picture 😉
Carol.

Like

3 07 2012
chrissiedixie

That is so not fair on you Carol! I had a really bad moment one day with my ankle in plaster, when I fell off my crutches and thought I’d broken my arm too…thankfully I hadn’t. How long has it been since your arm break now? And what time length do they think for the toe? I was off work 16 weeks altogether with my ankle and for 12 of those I was pretty much housebound, so I know how depressing it can be. I was on my own for 4 of my weeks too as hubby went to Morroco on his motorbike (I was very kind, I insisted he went!), but it’s not easy when you’ve got no-one around to try and chivvy you along either.
The time will pass – and don’t break anything else! 🙂

Like

3 07 2012
mountaincoward

I’ve just had my pot off my wrist but it’s still really weak. I was lucky that when I mentioned my toe to the surgeon when he came to take the pins out of my wrist that he offered to deal with the toe as well – I thought I’d have to go through the long process from A&E. But it’s scary that I broke my toe just catching it in the house in soft slippers – it’s another really bad break as well. I’m starting to think I’ve reached ‘that’ stage with my osteoporosis 😦

The toe is going to be potted up for at least 4 weeks I think.

You were very generous to let your hubby go off on that trip while you were still disabled with your ankle. Good job he didn’t have a bike accident in Morocco.

Like

3 07 2012
stravaigerjohn

Having been battling foot trouble for the past two years, but still able to walk after a fashion, you have all my sympathies.

Like

3 07 2012
mountaincoward

I can walk a little bit but it’s still at the swelling-up and painful stage so I’m trying to rest it a lot. Hope your foot gets sorted out soon – is it something fixable?

Like

3 07 2012
stravaigerjohn

Thoughts are with you. JB

Like

3 07 2012
fedupofuserids

And just as I thought I was having a bad week…..it doesn’t seem as bad compared to the awful time your having!

Hope you return to better health soon and manage to get a few summer walks in.

Did you make it up to Grisedale Tarn ?

Like

3 07 2012
mountaincoward

Hi Simon, did you get your camper sorted? Was sorry to miss you at the meet. Yeah, I made it up to Grisedale Tarn and took lots of photos which I’ll put out as a post soon (mainly photo one as I still can’t type). The weather was pretty horrendous all weekend though.

Like

4 07 2012
fedupofuserids

Campervan sorted 🙂 Moral of the story is your local friendly mechanic isn’t always best!

Its been pretty horrendous for the last month or so 😀

Like

4 07 2012
Carol O

Yeah, at least I don’t have to worry about missing any decent weather!

Like

2 07 2012
Paul Shorrock

Sad news, Carol! I can only wish you a swift recovery,

In the meantime, keep the archive stuff coming – it will give you something to do and will give the rest of us some fun on a ‘virtual’ walk with you!

Best wishes and looking forward to you getting on the real hills soon.

Like

2 07 2012
mountaincoward

It’s getting scary and depressing now! 😦

Like

3 07 2012
Paul Shorrock

I can only imagine how bleak things look at the moment. Any kind of fracture is serious for an ‘outdoors’ type, and you must be getting frustrated by it all. Stick in with it, and you will get through this – all things pass.

I mentioned in an earlier post that I also have osteoporosis as a complication of being coeliac. My most recent scan showed an improvement, the result of a combination of calcium supplements and load bearing activity.

I’ve got other health issues that sometimes impact on my outdoor life (Achilles tendons at the moment) However, I tend to ‘live for the moment’ and refuse to accept that my outdoor life could ever be threatened – at the same time, I have my exit strategy worked out, a host of things that I would like to do but don’t have time for at the moment.

When the time comes that I can’t do the outdoors thing, I’ve got lots to keep me going. I suspect that you have as well, but I also expect that we both have lots of years ahead flogging round those bloody hills!!

Get well soon, and come over to North Wales for some hill time, if you can fit it in round yer flippin’ Munros that is!

Best wishes,
Paul, Chris and t’dog.

Like

3 07 2012
mountaincoward

It’s the ease with which I’m ‘snapping’ that’s scary. And I’ve been pretty bored around the house being off work and not on any trips (even before I broke my foot and could get out for short walks) so I guess I haven’t got anything worked out for if I can’t go to the hills. I haven’t really had any indoor hobbies for years now.

But thanks for your support and encouragement. I am permanently on calcium supplements. I don’t think my latest scan showed an improvement as such – I just hadn’t apparently got worse but, seeing as the scan type was completely different, it would have been hard to compare the results.

Like

Leave a Reply

