One Foot in the Lakes

8 09 2012

Despite still being injured with my non-healing broken big toe, Richard and I decided we should still have a trip to the Lakes for the week. This decision was partly made as Richard is due to have a knee operation soon and could be out of action himself for several months. Of course, as I still can’t drive, we went via train and bus and picked Keswick as our centre for the week as it is a great Lake District public transport hub.

All photos by Richard Wood unless otherwise marked

We struck very lucky with the weather as, until the last couple of days, it was warm and sunny πŸ™‚

On the Sunday, with it being a beautifully calm day, we decided it was the perfect day to see whether my newly-healed wrist break was up to rowing a real boat (as opposed to pretending to row in the gym!) I was delighted to find that it was indeed and managed to get two lots of rowing in during the week. (When I texted my Mum afterwards, she thought me and Richard had been having a ‘row’ as in argument LOL!) Anyway, you can see from my smug-mug on the photo below how chuffed I was to be back at the oars…

The views were pretty good…

The second row later in the week was a bit rougher!

One lovely evening we took a stroll down by the lovely calm lake…


Photo taken by me with Richard’s digi-camera

After my first row we took the bus down to Seatoller in Borrowdale where I decided I was up to walking the mile and a bit to Seathwaite and back. My foot held up fine πŸ™‚ When we reached Seathwaite Farm, I sent Richard off to have a little scramble on the Seathwaite Slabs in Sour Milk Ghyll. When he came back, he found me happily sunbathing…

Another bus daytrip we took was round to Buttermere. There is a bus every hour which should go over the two passes of Whinlatter and Honister, however, the Whinlatter Pass was shut due to a road collapse caused by a combination of the wet summer and a badger sett under the road. The bus is currently taking a detour round via the A66 to Lorton.

At Buttermere I decided we would walk one side of Buttermere Lake. I picked the Hassness Tunnel side as I wanted to do the tunnel and it would be a much sunnier route than the other side. I found, however, that the path isn’t great that side and I would have found it much easier to take the more boring path the other side of the lake.


The Classic View of Haystacks from Buttermere


I Love This Picture Richard’s Taken of Fleetwith Pike and the Lake


Hassness Tunnel


Another Photo I Took With Richard’s Camera


A close-up of a daft route I once took Richard down Hassness Gill (follows the fenceline and is nearly vertical!)


Buttermere Youth Hostel Below High Snockrigg

Richard particularly wanted to do the railway walk so one day we walked the section from Threlkeld back to Keswick. It should have been four miles but, as we got lost coming back into Keswick, it ended up being six! I didn’t find the walk all that interesting as there wasn’t a great view due to being surrounded by trees most of the time so I’m just including one photo from this walk:

It’s a superb route for cyclists and there were very many folks cycling along – I’d still like to see the railway put back down though and am part of the campaign to achieve that.

As I’d managed six miles on the railway walk, we decided another nice walk was along Coledale Valley and back – eight miles from Braithwaite Village. This is one of my favourite valley walks in the lakes and I really enjoyed it. Towards the end of the valley my foot did start to complain a bit but, after a quick rest by the river under Force Crag Mine, it felt much better and didn’t moan at all on the return journey. I was very frustrated to be walking below my favourite mountain of Grisedale Pike though 😦

The next day we decided to go to Patterdale – I was hoping for another row but on Ullswater this time. Unfortunately, when we arrived, although it was mainly sunny, it was too windy to row so I decided that, as the upward path was stone-pitched most of the way, we could walk up to Lanty’s Tarn from Glenridding and over Keldas to Patterdale Village.


A Ridge I’d Like to do on Birkhouse Moor – anyone done it?

On arrival at Patterdale Village, I just had to have a go on my favourite roundabout! πŸ™‚

Big kid! The funniest thing we ever saw (and wish we’d caught on video) was when they used to keep sheep in the field with the roundabout. We looked over the wall once and saw the sheep all stood on the roundabout, facing out, going slowly round and round!

On my last day, after a final row on the lake, I decided there was just time for another walk. This time I decided I must be able to get up a hill – the ideal choice was Latrigg as the paths are superb all the way.


Keswick and Derwentwater from The Summit


Bad Weather Over Coledale


Outerside from Latrigg (what a good zoom Richard’s camera’s got!)

I got up and down the hill with absolutely no trouble whatsoever. In fact, as the week went on and I walked further and further, I found my foot felt better and better! πŸ™‚


Actions

Information

17 responses

14 09 2012
Tango

Thank you for the info Carol,I pinged it on the map now so when Im up there next with the Missus & Mutts I will go and track the tunnel down.. Hope you find yourself better soon… Cheers Terry.

Like

10 09 2012
bob

Great to see you mobile again Carol.That will cheer you up getting out and about.I may be going down the Lakes with my club soon myself all going well.Some great photos and ideas for walks.Hope the weather is that good when I go.

Like

11 09 2012
mountaincoward

Hmmm – well I WAS mobile again… but have a look at the reply to Paul S’s post below – I’m unfortunately fairly immobile again now 😦

Like

10 09 2012
momentumofjoy

These pics are fantastic. I could write posts on individual photos in this entry (but I won’t so no stress!). πŸ™‚ Just wanted to let you know how wonderful these are.

Like

10 09 2012
mountaincoward

Thanks πŸ™‚ I only took 2 of them myself – my friend Richard took all the rest – I’ll tell him you liked them πŸ™‚
Carol.

Like

11 09 2012
momentumofjoy

Travel more with Richard! He has talent (and btw, you do, too!!). πŸ™‚

Like

11 09 2012
mountaincoward

He is my main travelling partner – he also seems to have been doing a lot of the photography recently. He’ll be pleased you think he has talent πŸ™‚

Like

10 09 2012
Paul Shorrock

Good luck with the x-rays Carol, and good to see you out and about πŸ™‚

Like

10 09 2012
mountaincoward

Hmmm – had my x-rays… my toe is still broken, although this last week it has finally started to knit up. The two ends of the bone are mended now but it’s still broken in the middle. BUT – the surgeon has signed me off, has had my pot taken off and doesn’t want to see me again! Wonder if it was something I said? 😦

So now, I’m hobbling around with no pot and trying to wear ‘firm-toed’ shoes. I’ve only found a few old hiking boots I can get into so no idea what I’ll wear to work on dayshifts. My feet get too hot in the boots so then they swell up and my toe starts hurting 😦

I’m also back to square one a bit for getting around – I was feeling better in my pot and walking quite well – now I’m hobbling badly again…

Like

9 09 2012
fedupofuserids

Nice to see you out and about πŸ™‚ Looks like you practically had the Lakes to yourself – where is everybody ?

Are you warming to digital πŸ˜‰ ?

Like

9 09 2012
mountaincoward

I’m absolutely not warming to digital! I didn’t bother to take my camera though as I wasn’t sure I’d be up to doing anything. I also had a lot to carry on the public transport for a week’s stay and carrying heavy bags was the only thing which DID bother my foot!

The Lakes was pretty busy actually, especially the buses. The main users ‘clogging up’ the buses though were the ‘old dears’ (Richard’s term). As they can ride around free all day, round trips like the Buttermere run had every tiny bus with around 50 people waiting to board for every hour’s trip. That often meant that sometimes, walkers and suchlike couldn’t get on 😦

Like

9 09 2012
Tango

Hello Carol just a quick question were abouts is that tunnel you have taken photos of??? It looks interesting!!! Cheers Terry.

Like

9 09 2012
mountaincoward

It’s on the (roadside) shore of Buttermere just below Hassness Gill & House.

Like

9 09 2012
Alan Bellis

Good to see your (almost) back in action πŸ™‚

Like

9 09 2012
mountaincoward

Hi Alan, yeah I felt much better for getting out and about. I’ve been getting quite morose and grumpy and we can’t have that can we? πŸ˜‰

Like

9 09 2012
chrissiedixie

Better you’re really pleased to be out again, even if you still haven’t got a proper walking boot on! Hope it all comes together again for you very soon.

Like

9 09 2012
mountaincoward

Thanks Chrissie – next trip to the surgeon for yet more x-rays tomorrow…

I’m hoping to get to your trip reports either tonight or tomorrow night – you seem to have been away ages!

Like

Leave a Reply

