Lakeland Autumn Colours

8 11 2012

For a change this year our autumn colours have been quite reasonable and, more importantly, the leaves have deigned to stay on the trees long enough for photography. Most days the light levels and quality of light have been fairly poor though. However, on my Lakeland trip last week, I deliberately visited the Duddon Valley with my camera on the hunt for some lovely golden colours. These are the results… (don’t forget that clicking on the photos brings them up in their true size and resolution)


First we headed to Coniston…

Then we headed off, via Dunnerdale, to Duddon…

The next one’s not a great photo but it looked so much like a golden-lit Christmas Tree I couldn’t resist including it…

Actions

Information

26 responses

25 02 2014
wordpress theme directory

I’m not that much of a internet reader to
be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go
ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on.
All the best

Like

4 01 2013
seekraz

Very pretty colors…I love all of your rolling hills over there….

Like

4 01 2013
mountaincoward

Thanks – it was very pretty this autumn for a change – normally we don’t get many colours nowadays, not like when I was a lass!

Like

4 01 2013
seekraz

You’re welcome…I’ve heard that there’s been quite a change in the weather and the way nature acts over the past several years…you did well in capturing what there was, though….

Like

4 01 2013
mountaincoward

Climate change is very definitely on its way here I’m afraid 😦

Like

4 01 2013
seekraz

Seems like it….

Like

21 11 2012
Naresh Ramadurai

Very nice Autumn collection πŸ™‚ Loved it!!!

Like

21 11 2012
mountaincoward

Thankyou – we’ve had some good autumn colours this year for a change πŸ™‚
Carol.

Like

16 11 2012
Judy

Carol….I love your photos! They are gorgeous. Such lovely displays of autumn’s beauty! The mountains give a nice depth to your images too… and the storm clouds add lovely color and drama. I wish fall had lasted longer here..but it flashed by in a second…it seemed! Thanks for sharing your great images! And thanks for stopping by my blog!

Like

16 11 2012
mountaincoward

Thanks Judy πŸ™‚ I like the ones with the dark and broody stormclouds best – sets off the golden colours better and adds drama.

You’re right about autumn going so quickly though (although we’ve done better than normal in the UK this year). There was a lovely tree outside work which I wanted to photograph – looked great on Sunday but I forgot to take my camera to work. It’s now lost most of its leaves so I’ve missed out.
Carol.

Like

15 11 2012
pregoandtheloon

From one mountain girl to another… I nominated you for the Inspiring Blogger Award, and you can check it out on the enclosed address. Thank you for pouring your heart out, and sharing your stories. http://pregoandtheloon.wordpress.com/2012/11/15/inspiring-blogger-award/

Like

15 11 2012
mountaincoward

That’s really great of you – thank you! πŸ™‚ I’ll have to go away and see if I can find 7 interesting random facts about myself now! And then I’ll have to visit your other nominations – they look very interesting.
Carol πŸ™‚

Like

11 11 2012
bob

Some nice photographs Carol.I,ve found through trial and error over the years that the best autumn photos are ones taken on an overcast black storm cloud day with just a single shaft of sunlight hitting some of the leaves.Dark skies and gloomy conditions against leaves really bring them out well.I,m still trying to capture the autumn leaves as they are lasting well into November this year.

Like

11 11 2012
mountaincoward

Those are always my most dramatic photos under those conditions.

Like

10 11 2012
Scotlands Mountains

That first photo is wonderful Carol…

Like

10 11 2012
mountaincoward

Thanks – that’s my favourite one too πŸ™‚

Like

9 11 2012
lanceleuven

Spectacular! Particularly that first one. I always enjoy a nice early morning stroll as the leaves are changing. It’s a beautiful, and often unfairly maligned, time of year.

Like

9 11 2012
mountaincoward

I never enjoy anything early in a morning! I’m more an early-evening stroller πŸ˜‰ The first photo was taken in torrential rain – my camera seems to like those light conditions!

Like

8 11 2012
chrissiedixie

I have to say that every time autumn comes around, I think yes, it really is my favourite season.

Like

8 11 2012
mountaincoward

It used to be my favourite season but I’m starting to prefer Spring – that’s a time of hope for me – a hope we’ll get a good summer at last! πŸ˜‰

Like

8 11 2012
johndburns

One gale and all the leaves will be gone, catch it while you can.

Like

8 11 2012
mountaincoward

They’re almost gone now – they’re certainly looking drier and more scrunched and dead now!

Like

8 11 2012
Paul Shorrock

Well done on getting a sunny day to capture those colours Carol.

Like

8 11 2012
mountaincoward

Actually, my favourite photo is the first one (although it doesn’t look good until you click on it) and that was the one I took in the lowest light conditions possible in torrential rain. My camera seems to handle low light levels (for colour anyway) much better than sun and all it’s big contrasts (or perhaps it’s the user at fault!)

Like

8 11 2012
fedupofuserids

The Autumnal colours have been great this year πŸ˜€ Its just getting the weather to see them 😦

Like

8 11 2012
mountaincoward

It certainly was – most days the light was just awful!

Like

Leave a Reply

