2012 Stats Post / Happy New Year

31 12 2012

Feel free to add your own stats in the comments section below…

New Year 2012

Here are my hill statistics for the year. I’ve had to count my English hills this year as, for 6 months while I had my broken bones, I couldn’t drive anywhere or get to Scotland! 😦

Munros: 13
Tops: 4
Corbetts: 1
Wainwright Reascents: 34
Other English hills: 11

Total hills: 63
Hill days: 35
Summit views (when all wasn’t in the clag): 20

Car miles: 4500 – petrol £ 700 (around half last year’s total)
Public Transport to hills: £ 318.35

Chalet/holiday let nights: 3 weeks – £ 1000
Hotels/B&Bs nights: 4 – £ 191
Youth Hostel nights: 3 – £ 90
Bunkhouse nights: 2 (Dalwhinnie) £22
Bothy nights: none 😦

Broken bones: 2
Months out of commission: 6

Munros to go: 24

Hope you all have a great year in 2013 – certainly hope I have a better one than 2012 !

Actions

Information

12 responses

16 01 2013
Teery Cooling

Hello Carol you winding up your Munro’s & me & the Missus are just starting. We managed 3 last year & 2 this year so far..Looking on Easter leave to grab another 4.. Good luck for 2013..Cheers Terry.

Like

16 01 2013
mountaincoward

Thanks Terry 🙂

Yeah, it starts off like that… you do a few Munros… the next year you do a few more… then, when you get quite a way through the tick list, you suddenly decide you need to go up to Scotland every possible break you get from work and get as many as you can! Or maybe, I’m just an out-and-out bagger! 😉

When I finally compleat, I’m hoping to go to Oman and do some of the stuff you’ve been doing – looks quite nice so any tips would be welcome…

Like

9 01 2013
Isabel Smith

Carol, Happy New Year to you. I am sorry to hear about your 2012 mishaps.
I did not manage many munros last year either but hope to make my 200 tally this year. hope we meet up somewhere in the hills.
Isabel

Like

9 01 2013
mountaincoward

Well I still have in mind to invite you to my compleation whenever and wherever it happens to be. Hope you have a good 2013 🙂

Like

2 01 2013
bbb

Happy New Year Carol. Fuel prices are my biggest outlay. A good tally of hills for someone hopping around on one leg.

Like

3 01 2013
mountaincoward

Well, I wasn’t quite hopping… just walking up some of them with my pot on! 😉

My biggest costs are accommodation without a doubt – which makes me think it was total false economy to tell myself I couldn’t afford a camping van 10 years or so ago when I started the Munros!

Like

1 01 2013
fedupofuserids

Happy new year & good luck on the remaining 24 !

Considering the weather & 6 months unintended sabbatical, its still a hill tally not to be ashamed off.

Haven’t counted mine – didn’t get up any Munros :(, managed a sole Corbett, a nice selection of Grahams & a few Donalds. South of the border a couple of walks in the North Pennines, completed another round of the Wainwrights and only 60 away from another 🙂 Several planned trips postponed due to the weather 😦

When you tick off those last 24 are you walking according to another list or are you picking hills as you fancy them ?

Like

2 01 2013
mountaincoward

I’m going to be doing a bit of a combination I think. Firstly, I’m gonna get back to all the places I’ve been missing out on while I’ve been Munro-bagging, e.g. the Hebrides and the Isle of Man – also Snowdonia. Then, I intend to tackle whichever Corbetts I fancy, do more stuff in Assynt/Sutherland and do some more bothying. I also plan to do some long glen routes like right through Glen Tilt to White Bridge and the Lairig Ghru.

Like

31 12 2012
Paul Shorrock

24 Munros to go – no problem!! Have a good year Carol.

Like

31 12 2012
mountaincoward

hmmm – I thought 37 Munros to go was no problem at the start of the year… but I was wrong! Hope you’re right

Like

1 01 2013
Paul Shorrock

Travel hopefully 🙂

Like

31 12 2012
rebecca2000

Happy New Year!
x,
Becca

Like

Leave a Reply

