Evening Walk to Broughton Ponds

5 03 2013

There are two lovely little ponds just outside the village of Broughton-in-Furness where Richard and I base ourselves for half of our Lake District walking trips. Many times, on the first evening we arrive, I like to take a short stroll up to the ponds and sit awhile on the little seat there – a peaceful spot…
(Click on the photos for full resolution)

Broughton Pond(evening)

Broughton Pond & Seat

Broughton Main Pond Feb Evening

Broughton Pond Evening Rushes

Broughton Pond&trees

The local ducks like the tranquility too…

Broughton ponds & ducks

Broughton Pond (smaller one) at Sunset

When the sun finally goes down I return to the village…

Broughton Pond at Sunset (full)

Actions

Information

12 responses

11 03 2013
smackedpentax

looks nice and peaceful…I was in Broughton not so long ago, but I don’t know the area well – had I done I probably would have gone there for awhile!

Like

11 03 2013
mountaincoward

I never get bored with a visit to the ponds 🙂

Like

8 03 2013
bob

I’ll remember that area next time I’m down Carol. Looks a good ‘poor visibility high up’ alternative. I’m always on the lookout for those.

Like

9 03 2013
mountaincoward

It’s mainly just a quick evening walk – but you can extend it via the old railway a little further and then onto the local lanes…

Like

6 03 2013
fedupofuserids

Looks a nice tranquil spot ideal for de-stressing 🙂

I’ve passed through Broughton-in-Furness many times from the comfort of my car, always thought it looked a nice place – but shamefully I’ve never took the time to visit on foot!

Like

7 03 2013
mountaincoward

It’s well worth stopping for a drink at The Manor Arms pub – very friendly locals, real ales kept in the best condition (if you’re a real-ale drinker) and lots of crack 🙂

Like

5 03 2013
McEff

That’s nice, Carol. How do you get there, then? I’ve just been looking at the map. Do you follow a track north-east from the village centre and up the side of Broughton Tower?

Like

5 03 2013
mountaincoward

You follow the old railway line out of the village – you can’t miss them – they’re about half a mile along it on your left just where it all opens out. You can continue a while longer on the railway line but it eventually closes off and they make you walk on the (quiet) lanes from thereon. The lane walking (by then around the Woodland area) is very nice though 🙂

I either go out on the railway line and back through ‘Wilson Park’ or vice versa…
Carol.

Like

5 03 2013
McEff

Thanks for that. I didn’t realise it was the old railway line. Looking at the map, it should have been obvious. I remember the crossing gates being in Broughton, but they will have disappeared yonks ago I expect.
Alen

Like

5 03 2013
mountaincoward

I don’t often set off at the very start of the railway line out of the village but think I do remember white gates across the end of the line. I usually set off from The Square where a road leads out past the public toilets to either Wilson Park or the railway line.

Like

5 03 2013
chrissiedixie

There’s nothing quite like a special, little spot that leaves you feeling all peaceful…..

Like

5 03 2013
mountaincoward

It’s a really peaceful spot and pretty sheltered so nice in any weather 🙂
Carol.

Like

Leave a Reply

