Touristing on Skye – The Calm After the Storm

5 06 2013

After the torrid days I had on Skye bagging more scary Cuillin peaks with the guide and Richard and I completely knackering our legs in the process, it was time to wind down and actually enjoy the island. We were lucky to have another couple of nice days when we just drove around with our cameras – these are the results…

(the photos are a mix of my film and Richard’s digital shots)
Firstly, we drove down to Armadale on the Sleat peninsula and then round the coast road which passes through Tarskavaig and gives dramatic views across to the Cuillin, Blaven and the Red Hills.

Cuillin behind Tarskavaig Coastline
The Cuillin (above) and Blaven (below)
Blaven from Tarskavaig

Tarskavaig Bay

and two of Richard’s digi-shots…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We then continued back to Broadford for a meal (from the great ‘Waterfront’ cafe/takeaway) and I took this across the bay with Richard’s digi-camera as I liked the light…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I then drove us down past Loch Slapin to Elgol. There was a sudden heavy shower which really cleared the air and gave nice light to Blaven for these two (back on my film camera now)…

Blaven Across Calm Loch

Blaven across loch after storm

We then continued down to Elgol while having an exciting race with a van who thought he wanted to pass us but couldn’t quite catch me! ๐Ÿ˜‰ The scene which bursts into view as you descend to Elgol on such a lovely day must distract many a motorist – last time we visited here we saw nothing at all!

Cuillin from above Elgol
The Black Cuillin appear…
Cuillin from peninsula above Elgol

and it gets better when you reach the beach…

Cuillin from Elgol Beach Rocks

Garsbheinn under a huge bubble-carved cliff – from a distance it looks like writing on the rock!

Garsbheinn under Bubble-carved cliff, Elgol

Bubble-carved cliff, Elgol

Richard took a superb photo of it…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He also took these great shots of the detailed coastal rocks including what looks like a collapsed sea-stack…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And this shot across to the Isle of Rhum…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was fascinated by both the South Ridge of Blaven (which I really want to do soon)

Blaven South Ridge from Elgol

and Sgurr na Stri…

Sgurr na Stri, Marsco, Blaven South Ridge fm Elgol

We both took photos as we walked back up the hill to the carpark but both cameras handled the light completely differently (or at least, I possibly made a mess of the light reading for mine as it’s more or less come out black and white!) – Richard’s first:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leaving Elgol

Then, as we drove back from Elgol to Sconser, we saw some pretty dramatic sky and light scenes – I’d run out of film by now however so Richard had to take all these digitally. First of all, there was some great light forming over Blaven…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And then the most amazing thing happened over Glamaig – out of a pretty clear sky, it suddenly became blanketed in its very own Glamaig-shaped cloud. I stopped the car in nearly every layby or pull-in I could find and pushed Richard out to take yet more shots. I wasn’t sure they would come out but they have ๐Ÿ™‚

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glamaig with a curly wig – amazing – never seen anything like it! He then took this final photo at my request looking north to Ben Tianavaig just before we got back to the cottage in Sconser – it was quite late by now and the light was failing but I think it’s come out quite nicely just the same ๐Ÿ™‚

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Actions

Information

18 responses

9 06 2013
bob

Its nice just to relax and be a tourist once in a while. Skye is a great island for that. Best wishes for your last two peaks on the ridge. Have you picked your end Munro yet Carol or are you not bothered if its between a short list of several candidates?
Or is telling folk bad luck:)

Like

13 06 2013
mountaincoward

Hmmm – it’s looking like maybe Ben Lui – but I’ll also have Beinn a’ Chleibh behind it to do so may have to bob down the back and then back up to join the party (if anyone comes!). But then it might not be as I nearly went down to do Ben Lui yesterday when my Loch Quoich Munros clouded in and the weather turned nasty and I gathered it was better down south.

Like

8 06 2013
Scotlands Mountains

There is loads to do on Skye Carol other than the hills as you seem to have discovered ๐Ÿ™‚ I remember reading somewhere that the coastline of Skye exceeded that of France !
Nice Glamaig shaped cloud btw ๐Ÿ™‚

Like

13 06 2013
mountaincoward

I still love the Glamaig-shaped cloud photos best out of all those – those were the ones I was really excited about and couldn’t wait to look at them back at base on my laptop.

Like

8 06 2013
LensScaper

Fabulous set of images, Carol – you’ve done this iconic island and the Cuillin proud. I was very fortunate to do the complete circuit of the Black Cuillin about 12 years ago – never come across rock that was so hard on the hands, trousers or boots. Like rough sandpaper – didn’t have a fingerprint for weeks!

Like

13 06 2013
mountaincoward

You’re much braver than me if you joined Cuillin peaks together! I’ve only done that where it’s been exceedingly easy between 2 peaks otherwise it’s way too technical and scary for me between most of them!

Like

7 06 2013
McEff

Great pictures Carol. And a fantastic coast line. That rock with the bubbles looks like you could eat it.
Cheers, Alen

Like

13 06 2013
mountaincoward

That’s true – it looks like cinder toffee – fabulous stuff (the toffee and the rock bubbles…)

Like

7 06 2013
Paul Shorrock

Great images Carol – the views of the Cuillins from Elgol are classic shots, but you did them full justice.

Like

13 06 2013
mountaincoward

Thanks Paul. I’ll be going back there to take the boat trip to Loch Coruisk (hopefully next time)

Like

6 06 2013
chrissiedixie

Absolutely love that cloud over Glamaig!
We went to Skye for the first time when we went to Harris and Lewis – we spent 2 nights there on the way up and 1 night on the way down. We didn’t do any proper walking there, but just touristed a bit, and then wild camped with the van. It was rather nice!

Like

6 06 2013
mountaincoward

It is a nice place to just be a tourist – I’ll like it much better when I’ve finished the Cuillin!

I couldn’t stop squawking excitedly all the way back when I saw that cloud on Glamaig – really unusual phenomenon I think.

Like

6 06 2013
fedupofuserids

A great selection of photos, Skye has a wonderful coast line well worth exploring ๐Ÿ™‚

The one taken from Ord with the canoeists is taken about 20 yds away from the where the alleged ‘water horse’ skeleton is – I think we’ve discussed it before.

Like

6 06 2013
mountaincoward

We have – I wish I’d remembered that – I’ll be round there again though as it’s a nice drive.

Like

6 06 2013
smackedpentax

Excellent photos! You are making me sick again for Skye (it is a few years since I was there – used to camp at Edenbane) – maybe next year!

Like

6 06 2013
mountaincoward

You can come and do my last 2 Cuillin with me if you like! ๐Ÿ™‚

Like

6 06 2013
jackie sowrey

Skye looks just lovely and perfect for a weekend break so it’s now on my hit list. My favourite photograph is the 9th one as the I love the shape of the mountain, the beach looks beautiful and great texture in the rocks. I also prefer your photograph taken from the hill on the way to the car park (but don’t tell Richard). Everything is silhouetted so it gives the scene character.

Like

6 06 2013
mountaincoward

I don’t think Richard would mind (and, believe it or not, he doesn’t read my blog!) ๐Ÿ˜ฎ – he mainly takes photos for me to add to my posts if I want them. I think he deletes them afterwards…

Like

Leave a Reply

