Lakeland Sunsets

12 07 2013

One of the bloggers I subscribe to recently commented how lovely the sunsets have been during our recent British heatwave. I managed to catch a superb sunset myself the other evening in the Lake District and actually sat out on the hillside until the sun had set taking photos as the light changed. The first three photos are from that evening…
Click on photos for full resolution

Criffel Sunset through Aughertree Gap

Criffel Sunset from Aughertree Hill

Criffel Sunset from above Ireby

The following three are from Ravenglass on the Cumbrian coast – a beautiful and peaceful estuarial village…

Ravenglass Sunset2

Ravenglass Sunset

Ravenglass Sunset1

A few years ago, on one of my rare visits to the very popular Windermere, I was lucky to get these two sunsets…

Sunset-Windermere

Windermere at night

And finally, this was taken from Rannerdale Knotts looking across the lower end of Crummock Water to Loweswater with the sun just disappearing behind Melbreak…

Sunset fm Rannerdale Knotts

Actions

Information

21 responses

17 07 2013
Paul Shorrock

Great pics, Carol

Like

17 07 2013
mountaincoward

Thanks Paul. We’ve been having a couple of great moons lately (the astral kind πŸ˜‰ ) but I can’t do night photography so just have to look and admire πŸ™‚

Like

13 07 2013
bob

Some lovely photographs Carol. I haven’t noticed any sunsets here at all. It’s just sweltering and light and then it’s sweltering and dark. No colour changes at all apart from blue then fading straight into black. No clouds all week! Cant face climbing any hills at all here at the moment.

Like

14 07 2013
mountaincoward

No, even I’m finding it too hot to walk after last week’s forays up there and that’s very unusual for me as I’m a total sun-lover! I didn’t notice it get dark at all up there – I was sleeping in my car and it didnt get properly dark all night!

Like

12 07 2013
McEff

Great pictures, Carol. They bring back memories. I haven’t been to Ravenglass for donkey’s years.
Cheers, Alen

Like

12 07 2013
mountaincoward

Ravensglass is usually our ‘rainy day’ option if we’re in the Western Lakes – that or when it’s as hot as it is just now and too hot to go up the hills πŸ˜‰

Like

12 07 2013
jackie sowrey

I love the 2 photographs in Windermere Carol. Lovely composition and light!
Jackie

Like

12 07 2013
mountaincoward

I like the criss-cross pattern on the water on the 1st Windermere one – the light highlights that.

Like

12 07 2013
LensScaper

Superb bunch – but that first one is pretty special.

Like

12 07 2013
mountaincoward

That one and the last one are my 2 favourites. I was lucky with the first one as I just happened to look behind me as I was walking and suddenly saw it. I had no idea there was a great sunset forming as I was heading east!

Like

12 07 2013
lanceleuven

Wow, what spectacular shots! Fair play.

Like

12 07 2013
mountaincoward

Thanks Lance πŸ™‚

Like

12 07 2013
chrissiedixie

What wonderful photos πŸ™‚

Like

12 07 2013
mountaincoward

Thanks Chrissie – note, I never get to see sunrises though πŸ˜‰

Like

12 07 2013
chrissiedixie

I’m the other way – usually tucked up in bed before the sunsets!

Like

12 07 2013
smackedpentax

These really are superb..i enjoyed looking at every single one. One of the things I really enjoy is sitting on a hilltop somewhere just watching the sun go down…these are excellent

Like

12 07 2013
mountaincoward

It’s the first time I’ve ever sat with my camera in my hand watching the sun go down from a hill – normally I try to be off the hills by sunset. It was a lovely thing to do though πŸ™‚

Like

12 07 2013
fedupofuserids

Nice shots Carol πŸ™‚ Great sunset over Crummock & Loweswater.

I thought I’d seen you up Mickleden last week ?

Like

12 07 2013
mountaincoward

I was in Scotland – but I might have been wishing myself in the Lakes for some easier hills πŸ˜‰

Like

12 07 2013
rebecca2000

Ohh so pretty. The last one is my favorite.

Like

12 07 2013
mountaincoward

Thanks Becca – mine too as my Mum & Dad were with me on that one πŸ™‚

Like

Leave a Reply

