Help! Be a Photo Judge – The Results!

14 09 2013

Well, all those who helped me pick which photos to enter into the local contest may well be wondering how I got on.  I have to say you all have very good taste!

The votes went as follows: Keoldale – 8 votes, Cornish Coast Steps – 5 votes, Barra Beach Footsteps – 4 votes, Mullion Cove – 3 votes, Waves – 1 vote.

Going by that, I entered Keoldale Headland & Barra Beach under my name and Cornish Coast Steps and another under my mother’s name.  Keoldale Headland won first prize!  So once again, thanks to all who voted for your help 🙂

See below for post…

I’m due to enter our local photographic competition soon and one of the subjects this year is ‘Coastal’. I can enter 2 photos in total but can’t choose between the following. Please let me know under comments which 2 you would vote for.

I’m not sure what viewpoint the judge will take as it is a different judge every year – some years they’re after technical excellence, good composition etc. Other years they just like a really pretty picture! You will need to click on each one to see the proper resolution. Also, bear in mind that they will be submitted as prints so won’t be backlit – try to imagine them on glossy paper.

Thanking you all in advance for your suggestions 🙂

cChurch Cove
Church Cove, Cornwall

cMullion Cove
Mullion Cove, Cornwall

cCornish coast steps
Cornish Coast Steps

Barra Beach
Barra Beach Footsteps

Hosta seascape
Hosta Seascape

Hosta waves
Waves

Losgantir1
Losgantir, Harris

Keoldale Headland Walk3
Keoldale, Sutherland

Actions

Information

10 responses

17 09 2013
McEff

Well done. Good taste – see!

Like

15 09 2013
LensScaper

Cornish Coast Steps would be No 1 choice. Then it’s either Barra Beach or Hosta Seascape. I like the Seascape for its simplicity but on my screen the sky colour looks a little mauve to me. I think it might depend on how true a colour you can get when you print. Best of luck

Like

15 09 2013
mountaincoward

It’s already been judged – I was just putting out the results – Keoldale, Sutherland won first prize. I was just letting people know who’d voted previously 🙂

Like

15 09 2013
LensScaper

Oops!

Like

15 09 2013
mountaincoward

I think a lot of people are thinking it’s a brand-new post rather than an update 🙂

Like

15 09 2013
johndburns

Nice shots Keoldale, might be good in black and white. Just a thought.

Like

15 09 2013
mountaincoward

you wouldn’t get that beautiful blue and green sea then though…

Like

15 09 2013
bob

It’s all down to personal taste. I like Mullion Cove but that’s probably because that’s the one I’d like to scramble around exploring if I was there in person.

Like

15 09 2013
jackie sowrey

I like Cornish Coast steps the best!
Jackie

Like

15 09 2013
mountaincoward

Yes I like that one – but my favourite was the Barra Beach one and I thought that would win if any. There were some really superb photos though and at least one I thought was better than any of mine but that unfortunately didn’t get any prizes at all. Shows how tastes vary!

Like

Leave a Reply

