Dorset Coast & Durdle Door

8 03 2015

I was looking through some older photos from my pre hill-bashing days and thought something different would be nice. I’d found these photos of when Richard and I used to work for Bradford & Bingley Building Society and they used to let out the flats above the branches to staff for a very cheap week’s holiday. We used the Finchley Flat in North London many a time and the other flat we liked was the Bournemouth one. We used to take my parents down there as they also loved the stunning Dorset coast – here are the photos starting with the famous Durdle Door…

Durdle Door

click on photos for full size/resolution
Durdle Door can also be used to frame yachts for an interesting picture – wish he’d got red sails or something though…

Durdle Door with Framed Yacht

And from some angles reminds me of an elephant…

Durdle Door from the back

There’s a superb walk below the cliffs along the beach from Durdle Door. There are lots of flints to find and the beach is basically a long platform of chalk – quite unusual…

Dorset Chalk Pavement Beach

Looking back to ‘the door’…

Dorset Chalk Pavement Beach to Durdle Door

There are interesting sea stacks…

Dorset Sea Stack & Cliffs

Dorset Sea Arch & Stack

Some of the beaches are a lovely rich red sand…

Dorset Coastal Cliffs

Dorset Coastal Cliffs1

Kimmeridge Bay

You can see from the above photo of Kimmeridge’s cliffs how hard the walking on the clifftops is – it was nice just the same but definitely harder than hill-walking – if you’re not going very steeply up, you’re going very steeply down!

Dorset Coastal Cliff Walk1

Dorset Coastal Cliff Walk

Of course, we used to visit other beauty spots as well – here is Corfe Castle…

Corfe Castle, Dorset

And we used to go to Lulworth…

Lulworth Duckpond

Where if you clamber down the top of the cliffs at a certain spot

Lulworth Cliffs

You reach a fascinating fossil forest – you can see on the photo below two of the holes the trees were in…

Lulworth Fossil Forest

Lulworth Fossil Tree

Lulworth Fossil Tree from above

and finally, some interesting bits of cliff which had fallen off!

Cliffs near Lulworth Cove

Well worth a vist and of course the weather is much better than it generally is on the hills! ๐Ÿ™‚

Actions

Information

35 responses

23 04 2016
Christine Lucas

Always wanted to see Durdle Door. One day I will. Great photos!

Like

24 04 2016
mountaincoward

The South Coast is pretty interesting in general but I definitely like the Dorset section best.

Liked by 1 person

27 03 2015
Simon Howlett

A fantastic place to explore, Carol. Many years ago I tried my hand at fossil hunting, enjoyed it a lot. Great to see the yachts framed by the sea stacks.

Like

28 03 2015
mountaincoward

My Mum is the main fossil hunter of us all…

Like

13 03 2015
Olly Parry-Jones

This takes me back to a weekend away last July. I walked from Lulworth Cove, past Durdle Door to Rinstead Bay and then made a return along the hills inland, before exploring more of the coast around Lulworth. To say those cliffs are ‘steep’ is an understatement! But it’s worth the pain for the joys of discovering the Jurassic Coast. ๐Ÿ™‚

Like

19 03 2015
mountaincoward

It certainly is worth the effort – the whole coastline is stunning isn’t it?
Carol.

Like

20 03 2015
Olly Parry-Jones

Absolutely. I haven’t seen much else of the British coastline but I find it hard to imagine that anything else could compare. Perhaps Dover comes closest?

Like

20 03 2015
mountaincoward

Actually, Dover is one place I don’t think I’ve been to!

Like

9 03 2015
McEff

Excellent! Loved that. We had a week down there once and spent most of it lying in the sun in Lulworth Cove. I can recommend that to anyone.
Cheers, Alen

Like

10 03 2015
mountaincoward

It’s a shame there’s no staff flats for us any more as it was a great way to have a week’s holiday!

Like

9 03 2015
razzah

Yes – a real shame and a real impact to the area. The army are based there now but I don’t think as high a number and think they are quite transient (rather than settling there).

Like

9 03 2015
mountaincoward

They’re not as good-looking either ๐Ÿ˜‰

Like

9 03 2015
razzah

I don’t know about that ๐Ÿ˜‰

Like

9 03 2015
razzah

Looks a stunning coastline – not an area I know at all!

Like

9 03 2015
mountaincoward

It is but then quite a few of your Scottish coastlines are stunning so I don’t think it’s worth you travelling all that way. I particularly love your Sutherland coastline around Sango Bay ๐Ÿ™‚

Like

9 03 2015
razzah

Yes, up there is stunning. The Moray coast is lovely too – some interesting stacks and rock formations along there.

Like

9 03 2015
mountaincoward

I used to love the Moray Coast – I used to go to Findhorn quite a bit and spent some time at RAFs Kinloss & Lossiemouth when I was in the forces

Like

9 03 2015
razzah

My dad was at RAF Kinloss for about 25 years ๐Ÿ™‚ I grew up in Forres. Findhorn is lovely – was there the other weekend in fact to see Heavy Whalley do a talk.

Like

9 03 2015
mountaincoward

I think RAF Kinloss has gone now if I’m not mistaken? If so ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Like

9 03 2015
fedup

The fossilised trees look like giant barnacles! Fascinating coastline especially the Durdle Door.

Like

9 03 2015
mountaincoward

It’s a great area but the cliff-top walking is very tough indeed!

Like

8 03 2015
underswansea

Looks like beautiful country.

Like

8 03 2015
mountaincoward

It truly is – and the weather’s much better than the mountain areas I now frequent (well, most of the time anyway)

Like

8 03 2015
vintagecumbria

Looks an interesting coastline ๐Ÿ™‚ Well worth a visit.

Like

8 03 2015
mountaincoward

It’s a lovely county but the coastline is the best bit for definite

Like

8 03 2015
bob

Great post Carol. An area I’ve walked along in the past. Dorset is lovely. Shame the Pom Pom stack has gone. With the amount of winter storms predicted to increase and sizable landslips down there an annual event already these might soon count as historical photographs. Best to visit them while they are still intact.

Like

8 03 2015
mountaincoward

Yeah I suppose the coastline will change more rapidly with climate change. Mind you, it is in a constant state of change anyway so nothing can be taken for granted. Must be upsetting for climbers when their favourite routes get washed away though!

Like

8 03 2015
tessapark1969

Not an area I’ve ever been to, though I’ve done cliff walking in Cornwall in the past. Looks worth a visit sometime.

Like

8 03 2015
mountaincoward

I liked Dorset much better than Devon and Cornwall (I’m probably in a minority there though).

Like

8 03 2015
smackedpentax

The nearest I have got to Dorset is Devon, but it does look lovely…I would probably spend most of my time on the beach fossil hunting…

Like

8 03 2015
mountaincoward

Take a bucket – there’s loads of them down there!

Liked by 1 person

8 03 2015
chrissiedixie

A lovely looking area of the country, Carol, which I’ve not yet visited. Obviously I ought to!

Like

8 03 2015
mountaincoward

There are so many bits of Britain worth visiting it makes you wonder how we ever tear ourselves away and go abroad. Mind you, the thought of sunnier climes always tempts me…

Like

8 03 2015
stravaigerjohn

lovely photos of an area I know very well.

Like

8 03 2015
mountaincoward

It’s certainly one I was glad to discover – hope I get back down there sometime. I think it will be quite a few years before I get back down south though… Hopefully when I eventually manage to retire…

Like

Leave a Reply

