2015 Stats Post / Happy New Year

1 01 2016

Feel free to add your own stats in the comments section below…

Here are my hill statistics and summary for the year but I’ve only worked out the mileage and height gain for Scotland as it’s too messy for the English stuff I did – no Welsh stuff again this year unfortunately 😦

Stob an Cul-Choire & Aonach Mor
Aonach Mor Tops in June

Munro re-ascents: 8
Tops: 24 (5 guided, 3 with Richard, 19 solo)
Corbetts: 3
Scotland other: 6
Wainwright Reascents: 23
Wainwright Outlying: 6
Other English hills: 0
Total hills: 70

Munros Tops to go: 7

Scottish trips: 7 Hill days: 16 Summit views: 14
English trips: 6 Hill days: 16 Summit views: 9
(summit views are hill days when all wasn’t in the clag)

Miles walked (Scotland): 179
Height gain (Scotland): 57018 feet
Miles cycled: 20.5 (on hill tracks to Munro Tops)

Car miles (Scottish trips): 12000 (approx) – petrol £1200 (approx)

Guide costs: £340
Barrisdale boat: £50

Holiday Cottage nights (Scotland): 4 weeks – £1650
Hotel nights (Scotland): 4 – £200
B&B nights (Scotland): 1 – £40
Youth Hostel nights (Scotland): none
Bothy nights: none 😦
Car Camping (Scotland): 3 blissful and free nights 🙂
Scottish Accommodation Total: £1890

Outdoor Rock Climbs
VDiffs: 3
Severes: 1
all limestone

Another tough year – Munro Tops are definitely much harder than the Munros – some in technical difficulty (scariness in my case) and some are just a damn long walk.

I’ve done much better confidence-wise this year compared to last. But unfortunately, I’ve had much more joint trouble throughout the year and some severe back trouble towards the end of the year. Three lots of x-rays have confirmed that my right hip is wearing out badly, my lower spine is starting to crumble but my knee is fine (the occasional problems with my knee are obviously caused by extra pressure from the instability in my hip). The fitter I got, i.e. summer, the better my joints became fortunately.

Here are some of the ‘highlights’ of the year…

There was a truly amazing amount of snow left from the winter throughout the year – these photos were taken on our June Fort William trip:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ice cliffs at Ben Nevis summit!

My proudest moments as I did these scrambles on my own, continuing even though they were pretty scary! (click on second photo for close-up)

Am Fasarinen with Walkers

An Garbhanach-the Monster!

These involved a paid guide and a rope…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Photo Andy Ravenhill

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The scariest moment but the rest was nothing like as bad as I feared and I enjoyed most of it! (photo Andy Ravenhill)

Biggest shock and wet to boot which made the rock nice and greasy – ugh!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Photo Nicole Morschett

Worst/wettest walk of the year – before and after shots of the waterfall at the start/finish of the walk…

Ardessie Falls B4 & After
Ardessie Gorge
Ardessie Gorge5 (after)

Hope you all have a great year in 2016 and thanks for reading about my adventures 🙂

Actions

Information

16 responses

8 01 2016
Rowena

I love your stats 🙂 I wish I could do stats as well but I get confused with all the counting lol! I guess you will be finishing the tops this year and can move on to pleasing yourself? 🙂

Like

2 01 2016
underswansea

Wow! That is quite a year! Looking forward to following your adventures in 2016. Take care. Bob

Like

5 01 2016
mountaincoward

Thanks Bob – I hope I get my list finished next year and then I can move onto something else!

Like

5 01 2016
underswansea

Promise me when you finish the list you take up something that requires hiking boots and a funky headband (buff). I can’t see you crocheting! 🙂

Like

5 01 2016
mountaincoward

funnily enough, I was discussing that with a ‘ground-based’ friend the other day – she said it was time I got myself SOME indoor hobbies ready for when the time comes. But no I won’t be giving up the outdoors stuff until my legs fall off! 😉

Like

6 01 2016
underswansea

Good.

Like

2 01 2016
surfnslide

Happy New Year Carol!
As I get older my insatiable appetite for scrambling has diminished, possibly due to my dodgy knees, possibly a more healthy respect for my own mortality. I was talking about this with a friend a few days ago and we relived some stories from our youth doing seriously dumb and naively dangerous climbs in the belief we were were invincible when in fact we were just lucky 😀

Like

2 01 2016
mountaincoward

I love a non-dangerous scramble but if there’s any risk of death, i want to second on a rope thanks!

Like

2 01 2016
Blue Sky Scotland

Happy New Year Carol, I am always impressed by the distances you cover on walks, especially on your own in remote areas. I no longer have the internal motivation for that level of physical punishment myself, particularly as I get older. An amazing achievement and outlay required. 57,018 feet of height in one summer is some going so it’s no surprise the joints are getting worn down. Hope you manage to finish the remaining tops pain free. Best wishes.
P.S. Love the Ben Nevis summit photo.

Like

2 01 2016
mountaincoward

Walking is definitely helping my joints – I don’t carry much weight around as I don’t really camp as such so that helps. I don’t mind the long distances into the wildernesses – it’s the getting up the hills which I’m finding harder nowadays. I think the wildernesses would be spoilt if I went with other people – I prefer company on the actual hills though.

I still can’t get over Richard’s Ben Nevis summit ice cliffs photo!

Like

1 01 2016
tessapark1969

Happy new year!! I never try and tot up costs or mileage it scares me too much 😦

Like

2 01 2016
mountaincoward

I’ll bet – that and the flying/trains etc from down south – probably pretty horrifying!

Like

1 01 2016
fedup

Happy New Year 🙂 Looking forward to reading about your exploits in 2016

Like

1 01 2016
mountaincoward

Thanks Simon. Hope you get chance to get back to your blog one day – I gather work has got a bit busy?

Like

1 01 2016
fedup

There’s always something that gets in the way of fun! Hoping to re-balance things in 2016!

Like

2 01 2016
mountaincoward

Top bagging has started to get in the way of my ‘fun’ sometimes! I’ll be glad to leave the major hill lists and suit myself more I think. You never know though – I said that at the end of the Munros – I lasted a few months and then decided I had to take on another list!

Like

Leave a Reply

