Stark, Bare & Beautiful

31 01 2016

Winter trees that is… You can’t beat the variety and shapes trees in their winter form give us – a real gift to photographers! Here are a few I’ve collected over the years…

Gordale-limestone tree

(click on photos for full size/resolution)
We’ll start with my best one – this one has actually won prizes – the photo, not the tree so far as I know 😉

tGargrave tree silhouette

tGreen Quarter tree

tFavourite Roadside Tree
This was my favourite tree on the entrance to our village – now the farmer’s cut it down – why I don’t know! Sadly missed 😦

Some of my favourite tree photos are mainly due to the lighting effects of the weather rather than the tree shapes… the next photo was taken immediately before a huge thunderstorm where the sky turned fluorescent green!

tDales tree

tLong Meg&trees

tGategill trees

The next tree, a Monkeypuzzle, isn’t actually naked but still makes a grand silhouette…

tDruidibeg Monkeypuzzle

Now this next tree’s only bare ‘cos it’s more or less dead – but what a fascinating study. I call it the Ostrich tree from the angle in the first photo 🙂 Note the sheep framed in it in the second photo (both digi-shots)…

Ostrich Tree!

The Ostrich Tree

Ostrich Tree Frame

In deep winter, when the snow comes, snow-pasted trunks and branches make a great artwork!

tShipleysnow trees

tShipley Snow trees

Actions

Information

22 responses

2 03 2016
fedup

Your Ostrich tree looks very odd, surprised not to see Sycamore Gap?

Like

2 03 2016
mountaincoward

What’s Sycamore Gap?

Like

3 03 2016
fedup

Its the lone tree on Hadrian’s wall probably made famous in the 1990s Robin Hood film & is the tree version of Ashness Bridge if that makes sense. You will have to have a look on google as I visited pre-digital so cant send you a photo cheers si

Like

3 03 2016
mountaincoward

Strange ‘cos I’ve never seen or heard of that. I’ll have to have a google. Haven’t done much up at Hadrian’s Wall yet. One of my friends walked it – says it was the worst weather he’d ever encountered on a long-distance walk!

Like

19 02 2016
the Severe climber

Fun photos – I’ve always liked trees like that.

Like

2 03 2016
mountaincoward

Sorry, did answer this at the time but it didn’t seem to appear!

Like

9 02 2016
Mark

I’ve a collection photos mounted in a frame I call “trees on lanes”. All pictures are taken in the Dales.

Like

10 02 2016
mountaincoward

Well these weren’t all in The Dales – the Monkey Puzzle is, believe it or not, South Uist!

Like

7 02 2016
smackedpentax

Beautiful photoset Carol…I am a tree lover too 🙂

Like

8 02 2016
mountaincoward

The council and the farmers around here seem to do nothing but fell them! 😦

Like

3 02 2016
chrissiedixie

And I thought it was just me who had a thing about tree silhouettes….

Like

3 02 2016
mountaincoward

I also like trees in spring and autumn (not that we get much autumn colour recently) but winter is great for the shapes.

Liked by 1 person

2 02 2016
Simon Howlett

You’re right Carol, winter trees are a gift to photographers, these are all magnificent. Wish the snow had remained a little longer this year, it’s disappeared too quickly in recent weeks.

Like

2 02 2016
mountaincoward

Thanks Simon. I wished the snow had stayed longer as it wasn’t very sledgeable and I love sledging!

Liked by 1 person

2 02 2016
Simon Howlett

Me too!

Like

1 02 2016
Blue Sky Scotland

I prefer them with the leaves on but that’s a fine collection. Hopefully the woodlands of the UK will survive our increasingly violent winter storms. I was in Calendar a couple of months ago and the beautiful woodlands there are badly depleted due to mudslides, wind damage and H and S forestry work to make the remainder safe. A sad sight of a once great deciduous woodland under Calendar Crag that was a favourite location.

Like

2 02 2016
mountaincoward

we’ve lost a few this winter unfortunately. I walk past some on the road bends just before I get to work each day – lovely old large-leaved limes (one of my favourites) and Service Trees. Unfortunately one of those has gone now 😦 But to make things worse, the council are busy sawing most of the roadside trees down which is really p***g me off!

Like

31 01 2016
underswansea

Hi Carol. Wonderful photos! They are lovely trees. Not sure how that tree grew with a hole in the middle. Bob

Like

2 02 2016
mountaincoward

It didn’t. It died many years ago and has hollowed since – that’s all that’s left of the old tree now (an Ash). I do think dead trees make the most fascinating studies though…

Like

3 02 2016
underswansea

Hi Carol. I agree. Nothing like looking at old trees pushing their silhouetted branches into the sky. Surprising nobody, over the years, tore the old ash down for firewood (I’m glad they didn’t). Dead trees beside roads don’t last long around here. Bob

Like

31 01 2016
Gaslight Crime

Terrific pictures

Like

2 02 2016
mountaincoward

Funny, I replied to you yesterday but it hasn’t shown up! Can’t remember what I said now except ‘thanks’ 🙂

Like

Leave a Reply

