Around Ireby & Uldale, NW Cumbria

30 05 2016

Come spring, summer and Autumn, I spend approximately half my time in Cumbria and half (around my working shifts) in the Yorkshire Dales. In a few years, when the Government finally let me retire, it will be nearer 100% of the time in north-west Cumbria as that’s where I intend to move to. This is why…

All photos my digi point-and-shoot so not great quality I’m afraid

First of all, there are lots of lovely, quiet lanes to walk along – these are great in any weather. Around where I currently live, the traffic on the country lanes is horrendous!

Ireby to Uldale Lane
The lane between Ireby and Uldale – my favourite!

Skiddaw from Baggra Yeat
Skiddaw from the lane to Longlands

Also in wet weather, there are the superb tractor lanes everywhere. As this is a big dairy area, from May onwards, there’s usually lots of moos for me to talk to ๐Ÿ™‚

Uldale Lane Top
My favourite tractor lane from Uldale to Aughertree (and next 2 photos)

Uldale Lane, Meadowsweet & Scots Pines

Uldale Lane Scots Pines(portrait)
The stand of Scots Pine along the lane

Marshalls Track1
I call this The Marshalls Track, although strictly speaking that is the tarmac continuation when you’ve crossed the Uldale road

Some nice moos who’d just had a little chase across the field alongside me (the bull was quite timid and hid behind the girls until I’d stopped) – these are beef cattle, not dairy though…

Beef Moos and Calves

Beef Bull & Harem

There are also lovely grassy tracks…

Uldale Common Longside Track Start

There is a footpath across a field with some great dead ash trees – one is busy trying to re-incarnate itself…

Dead Ash & Binsey

Sprouting Dead Ash2

Sprouting Dead Ash(portrait)

Some very ornate wrought-iron farm signs…

Baggra Yeat Sign

Uldale Common is a very extensive area with tracks all over it and some great walking and views…

Uldale Common Valley
My ‘secret valley’

Uldale Common - Shooting Butt or Earthwork
I initially wondered if these were antiquities but I think they’re shooting butts unfortunately

Uldale Common Antiquity or Butt2

Uldale Common Antiquity or Butt

There are great views to Skiddaw…

Uldale Common Viewpoint Cairn

Skiddaw over Uldale Common Farm Pond

Skiddaw and meadowsweet

Skiddaw from near Longlands

But, the jewel in the crown of Uldale Common is the old quarry which now makes a lovely tarn…

Uldale Common Lake

Uldale Common Lake1

Uldale Common Lake - My Rock Seat
My rock seat – don’t jump off here as it’s at least 8 feet deep, very muddy and full of leeches!

Uldale Common Lake to Skiddaw

Uldale Common Lake & Skiddaw

Uldale Common Lake to Longlands

There are pretty plants when the water levels drop in dry weather…

Uldale Pond Flowers

Wandering this area and sitting by the quarry tarn are probably the only times I find true peace…

Uldale Common Lake (dark)

Actions

Information

20 responses

5 06 2016
Simon Howlett

Great photos Carol. I’ve cycled some of these lanes which are close to home. Occasionally pay a visit to the Snooty Fox at Uldale for refreshments … cycling’s thirsty work! ๐Ÿ™‚

Like

9 06 2016
mountaincoward

If you’re cycling, there’s Mae’s Tea room during the day – very nice…

Liked by 1 person

19 06 2016
Simon Howlett

Yes, it’s nice. Would like to have an exhibition in there …

Like

2 06 2016
fedup

I recognise a few of those lanes ๐Ÿ˜‰ I occasionally zip along them on the bike! You are missing a couple of nice roadside features nr. High Ireby from your photo collection.

Something tells me you are counting down the years ๐Ÿ™‚

Like

9 06 2016
mountaincoward

Yeah, I’m counting down the years but the bloody Government’s adding more on all the time! I’m not going to put up with it much longer though… A couple more years at most I think.

Like

1 06 2016
tessapark1969

Nice post. Not an area I know at all – spent plenty of time in the Lakes and Yorkshire but not the bit in between.

Like

2 06 2016
mountaincoward

It’s not the Ireby in between the 2 – it’s the one up by Carlisle.

Like

31 05 2016
smackedpentax

Superb photos Carol…it is a stunning area. Is it the Ireby just past Ingleton? If so there is a superb pothole there – one I did a few times ‘Ireby Fell Caverns’, but I haven’t been there for many years.

Like

1 06 2016
mountaincoward

No, it’s the Ireby near Wigton, Carlisle.

Like

1 06 2016
smackedpentax

Ah, I dont know that one…

Like

31 05 2016
underswansea

Lovely looking country with plenty of places to explore. Something to look forward to. Take care. Bob

Like

31 05 2016
mountaincoward

yeah – I am looking forward to it. But the trouble is, I keep seeing my dream house in that area but need to retire first. There’s no real work around there. So I keep seeing my dream houses too soon unfortunately…

Like

31 05 2016
Gaslight Crime

Hate these politicians who can retire whenever they fancy but condemn everyone else to working until they drop,

Like

31 05 2016
mountaincoward

My feelings exactly. I was just 2 years off retirement and really looking forward to it when I got a letter saying I had to work another 8 years! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Like

30 05 2016
Blue Sky Scotland

Looks a lovely area with plenty to do. Here’s hoping you get your dream move when it comes. I could live there myself no problem as I love that type of rural landscape.

Like

31 05 2016
mountaincoward

There really is plenty to do – I wouldn’t have to race around the whole of the British Isles all the time as I do now so it will save me a fortune. I’ll probably just take a couple of holidays a year like most folks do instead of going away a couple of times a month. Sounds fun but is draining and expensive!

Like

30 05 2016
Jim Ruebush

Beautiful views. Thanks.

Like

30 05 2016
mountaincoward

Beautiful and peaceful place ๐Ÿ™‚

Like

30 05 2016
Jim Ruebush

For fun, I used Google Streetview to ‘drive’ some of the path between Ireby & Uldale. Now, I’d like to explore in person. โ€ผ๏ธ

Like

31 05 2016
mountaincoward

LOL – that’s a great idea – I’ll do that at work when I can’t get there ๐Ÿ˜‰

Like

Leave a Reply

