Dormant Bottom Syndrome!

30 06 2016

I’ve been meaning to put out another post on my wearing-hip problems and how I’m dealing with them. Suddenly though, the Daily Mail Online put out an article on it beating me to it.

Basically, I find all the stuff in the article makes complete sense and is exactly what I’m finding. When I went for physio for my hip, the muscles she found weren’t working properly were my glutes (in the back of your bum). This meant that my muscles weren’t in balance in the area of my hips and so wear and tear occurred as your muscles are what protect your joints.

I’m happy to report that strengthening my glutes has been the single most effective thing I’ve done to improve my walking and avoid pain. This has been closely followed by the series of mini-stretching exercises I’m doing every morning while I wait for some hot water to wander up from my garage so I can get washed! (See my ‘Niggling Groin Strain‘ post for further information).

Another essential is walking at least a couple of miles every single day no matter what. Seizing up is all too easy and the more you keep moving the better, even with worn joints.

Daily Mail article here

Some fellow sufferers have also asked me if I’ve found anything which stops the long drives up to Scotland making me lame and stiff… well, I have actually – two things…

Unfortunately, the first thing I’ve found is never to do a hill on the day I’m driving home. Exercising and then sitting still for hours on the drive home doesn’t seem to agree with me no matter what, although the converse seems okay – driving then walking.

But, going up to Scotland, I have found I can drive for 10 hours (with one half hour break) and get out of the car completely unstiff and able to use my legs normally.

How am I doing this? well, it’s hard to explain but I’ll have a go…

Periodically (quite often in fact), when I’m driving, I suddenly start to shuffle my hips and knees about in the seat like I’m walking. I actually keep my feet still on the pedals and my bum fairly still on the seat but move my pelvis from side to side and my legs forward at the knee a bit like I’m walking (have a go while you’re sitting reading).

I’ve also managed to sort out the bad back I was getting in a similar manner by simply moving it around a lot while I’m driving. Things like hollowing and then rounding my back and moving slightly to each side a few times every hour or so seems sufficient (in practice, when I remember or if it starts to ache a bit).

Hope this is helpful to my fellow sufferers and crumblers!

Actions

Information

11 responses

7 07 2016
fedup

Great news the exercises are helping ๐Ÿ˜€ Its my ankles I struggle with, they are sore & stiff first thing in the morning; I find the first descent down the stairs awkward! They are also stiff after a drive up or back from Scotland – although I find they are much better in the van rather than the car – the van has cruise control so I can put my feet in a more comfortable position rather than one permanently on the accelerator. Helps with the speed cameras too ๐Ÿ˜‰

The only time my hip has pained was after a round of the Daer Donalds including Queensberry – took about 6 months to recover!

Like

11 07 2016
mountaincoward

Sore ankles? you shouldn’t kick your missus out of bed to make your morning cuppa! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ve thought I might go for cruise control for that very reason if I get a camping van (or rather, a normal van conversion)…

Like

2 07 2016
Blue Sky Scotland

Never mind. You will soon have a car that drives itself up to the Scottish Highlands while you watch a film in the passenger seat and relax. Self drive cars are the future of motoring…. or so we are told by self drive enthusiasts still alive :o)
Glad the exercises have helped.

Liked by 1 person

11 07 2016
mountaincoward

A self-driving car would scare the hell out of me, especially on a motorway. But I actually like the driving itself – it’s the motorists in front of me I can’t stand! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Like

1 07 2016
underswansea

Hi Carol. I’m not big on jumping in the vehicle after a long hike. The last time I had my young daughter drive the mountain back roads home. I told her I wanted her to have the driving experience. It sure sounds, from the posts on your blog, you are getting around fine. Bob

Like

11 07 2016
mountaincoward

I’ve just had a bad week though after a really bad day in the hills – it was very wet and the rock was slippery on the route we were doing so it was bent over and hands-on all the way for me. Now I’ve got a bad everything! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Like

1 07 2016
tessapark1969

I do the same sort of thing re my back on the drive home. Glad the exercises are helping!

Like

1 07 2016
mountaincoward

We must look funny if other drivers see us! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Like

1 07 2016
Jim Ruebush

I hear you about the back and hips and tightness. Most mornings I head for the living room floor for a series of stretching to limber up my core. I also have added some moves for the hamstrings and to strengthen my hips and knees. I tore a meniscus in my left knee 6 weeks ago. The physical therapist is on the case. I’m nearly better.

I could never drive that long. We stop at about 5 hours, find a place to go for a hike before the day is out.

Like

1 07 2016
mountaincoward

You probably drive a lot further in your 5 hours than we do in our ten – our roads are pretty awful and absolutely choked with traffic – very slow going ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Liked by 1 person

2 07 2016
Jim Ruebush

No doubt. Our roads are mostly straight arranged as a large grid of square miles. I read that Iowa has more miles of roadway than the entire national interstate mileage system.

Like

Leave a Reply

