2016 Stats Post / Happy New Year

31 12 2016

Feel free to add your own stats in the comments section below…

Here are my hill statistics and summary for the year but I’ve only worked out the mileage and height gain for Scotland as it’s too messy for the English stuff I did…

dalehead-summit-nov-16-snow

Munro re-ascents: 6
Munro Tops: 5
Corbetts: 2
Corbett Tops: 1
Grahams: 1
Wainwright Reascents: 30
Wainwright Outlying: 24
Other hills: 16
Total hills: 85

Munros Tops to go: 3 all on An Teallach – coming?

Scottish trips: 9 Hill days: 13 Summit views: 12
English trips: 10 Hill days: 26 Summit views: 20
(summit views are hill days when all wasn’t in the clag)

Miles walked (Scotland): 153
Height gain (Scotland): 41211 feet
Miles cycled: 8 (on hill tracks to Munro Tops)

Car miles (Scottish trips): 900 (approx) – petrol £900 (approx)

Guide costs: £245 (3 outings)

Outdoor Rock Climbs
VDiffs: 2
Severes: 1
all limestone

Log Cabin nights (Scotland): 7 – £410
Hotel nights (Scotland): 7 – £500
B&B nights (Scotland): 4 – £180
Climbing Club Hut nights: 8 – £130
Youth Hostel nights (Scotland): none
Bothy nights: none 😦
Car Camping (Scotland): 1 blissful and free night 🙂
Scottish Accommodation Total: £1220

Found out this year why I’ve been finding my hillwalking so tough in the last couple of years… after coughing and having a worsening chest all year, the doctors finally decided I’ve got COPD (obstructive lung disease). As I’ve never smoked or done anything to deserve it, I’ve been very annoyed about this and am still in the stage where I think it’s grossly unfair (this stage is supposed to pass but I personally think it will be a long time before it does)! The general consensus is that it must have come from air pollution and probably from my walk to work in heavy traffic (all diesel). I said work would kill me one day 😦

I also got Lymes Disease in the spring which was (hopefully) quickly dispatched with a huge, long dose of Doxycyclin but this had the unfortunate effect of making me sensitive to the sun for the first time ever and I got bad burns to my hands.

I also broke yet another bone – another toe which is taking its time to heal…

In addition to my other woes I also got bitten by yet another farm dog – they are a menace!

On the bright side, I at least seem to have got my various wearing joints in check now with the physio exercises I was given. My hip has been no bother and I’ve had no knee problems this year.

Confidence-wise, I’ve never had such a great year! Typical that, as my health fails to the level where I am probably not going to be able to hill walk any more, my ambition and mental capability for the hills has increased dramatically. Very frustrating…

Here are some of the ‘highlights’ of the year…

There was a truly amazing amount of snow on the Lakes hills on our mid November trip this year – well over a foot deep!

wintry-dalehead-looking-west

wintry-dalehead-to-bowfell-esk-pike

Scrambling fun (many with Steve Fallon’s excellent group trips) – although I had the chance to be roped up/helped if required, I actually didn’t need it!

Bruach na Frithe North Ridge Profile
Bruach na Frithe North Ridge with my club

Forcan Ridge-section after bypass
Forcan Ridge with Steve Fallon

Ledge Route Closeup
Ledge Route on Ben Nevis North Face (Steve Fallon trip)

liathach-am-fasarinen07
Liathach Traverse (Steve Fallon group)

Hope you all have a great year in 2017 and thanks for reading about my adventures 🙂

Actions

Information

18 responses

3 01 2017
tessapark1969

That’s a good year. The snowy Lakes pics are great!

Good luck for 2017 and hope your health holds out. My back has been pretty bad recently so I’m starting small and hoping to work back up to the bigger stuff.

Like

3 01 2017
mountaincoward

It’s no fun healthwise getting older is it? 😦

Like

3 01 2017
Blue Sky Scotland

Impressive mileage on foot you’ve clocked up Carol. Limestone is one of the hardest rocks to climb on with small slippy holds. Only grit stone and sandstone are on a par with it. A walking pole always comes in handy with farm dogs.I find ( not to hit them with it but just to fend them off by pointing it non aggressively when they look ready to charge in for a bite) as it usually stops them from getting too close. The Scottish economy will miss your input badly if you have to stop coming up here… and they might even take back my new bus pass if that happens :o)

Like

3 01 2017
mountaincoward

I think we’ll still visit Scotland but I probably won’t come up on my own so much and we might only come up once or twice in a year.

Farm dogs certainly recognise, and are very wary of, walking sticks or poles of any kind.

Like

2 01 2017
45degreesmc

Happy New Year – hope you have many great days. Personally I’ve got exactly 100 Munros to do to complete a 2nd round – hopefully down to 50 by year end.

Like

2 01 2017
mountaincoward

I could never imagine doing more than one round of the Munros… and now I wouldn’t be able to anyway. I’ll drag myself up An Teallach for my Tops Compleation somehow though!

Liked by 1 person

1 01 2017
underswansea

A very good year of outings. I enjoyed reading last years adventures and look forward to your accomplishments in 2017! All the best. Bob

Like

2 01 2017
mountaincoward

It was a good year and, for once, the weather in Scotland was pretty good!

Like

1 01 2017
treksandtors

Looks like a fine year to me, the Scotland trips especially. Top effort.

Like

1 01 2017
mountaincoward

Thanks – it felt like maximum effort some days!

Liked by 1 person

1 01 2017
smackedpentax

WOW! What an amazing year you have had Carol! Have a Happy New Year, and I hope you have a better one in the way of health (and farm dogs ) 😉

Like

1 01 2017
mountaincoward

Laughed at the farm dogs bit – Richard got bit ‘in the ass’ as our American buddies would say by a workman’s Alsatian about a week later!

Liked by 1 person

1 01 2017
Mark

What a accomplished year you’ve had! Some demanding days out there.

I’ve had a varied time this year. My two trips to Ireland stand out as does the January trek along the uninhabited coast of Jura. Buying a house on a Scottish island is working out well even if it curtails my hill days due to work needing doing and logistics.

Looking forward to reading of your 2017s outings.

Like

1 01 2017
mountaincoward

Are you planning to move into the Lismore house when you retire completely or just use it sometimes?

Wish I’d come with you guys on your Irish forays as I’d like to do those hills too but think it will work out quite expensive for a sole undertaking – especially if I need to hire a guide, which I might well!

Like

1 01 2017
Mark

Lismore will a parttime thing for this 2017 at least. Not many hills there but it is within reach of many a less frequented corner of the Highlands and Islands.

As we split the cost four ways the Irish Furth bagging trip was good value. That’s largely down to Matron Butler herding us all about…….

Like

1 01 2017
mountaincoward

I wish she’d invite me on some of this stuff!

Like

31 12 2016
Jim Ruebush

I admire your accomplishments. May you enjoy more in the coming year.

Like

1 01 2017
mountaincoward

Thanks Jim – I hope I do

Like

Leave a Reply

