Fairy Pools, Glenbrittle, Skye

16 04 2017

If you have an hour or so to spare whilst on Skye, the Fairy Pools at Glenbrittle are well worth a visit. The only problem is timing your visit as they are exceedingly popular with both tourists (in cars) and midges. If you go late enough to park and avoid the crowds, you get eaten alive!




Click on photos for full size/resolution

We went one lovely warm evening after we’d seen them from our walk up Bruach na Frithe – before that, we had no idea they existed! We’d seen the convenient carpark for our start up the pass between Glenbrittle and Sligachan and wondered why there were so many parked up and where they were wandering off to that morning.

The background to the pools is just about my favourite view of the Cuillin – that of Sgurr an Fheadain with its magnificent Waterpipe Gully splitting the front of the mountain. The path heads downhill towards it…

The pools are very popular for swimming on a hot evening – no idea how the swimmers survived the midges though – we found them almost too ferocious to stop and take photos and all these shots have been very rushed!

Some of the pools are pretty deep…

There are some lovely little waterfalls…

Some rocky gorges…

Some huge iron ore streaks down one rock wall…

We went as far as we could stand towards Sgurr an Fheadain as I wanted a closer look – I quite fancy ‘The Spur’ up the front to the left of The Waterpipe sometime – possibly not on my own though!

My favourite shot of the last falls before the walk to Fheadain (which we haven’t continued on to yet)

Hope we get further on our next visit to Skye

Actions

Information

21 responses

3 05 2017
smackedpentax

I remember going there last time I was on Skye (many years ago)…I don’t know which was worse, people of midges – hundreds of both. I had previously seen a superb time lapsed photo of the falls, all misty and the water like silk…I wanted to take something similar, but there were dozens of people milling around and we left after 5 minutes. Still, a magical place though.

Like

3 05 2017
mountaincoward

Well at least the folk don’t bite?

Like

3 05 2017
smackedpentax

Paul told me that 100 years or so ago, if you were caught thieving the locals took you to Rannoch moor, stripped you naked and tied you to a post, and left you with the midges for 24 hours…. if you were lucky enough to survive chances were that you would never do it again 😉

Like

3 05 2017
mountaincoward

Yep – I heard that for quite a few cases in quite a few areas – I believe one was a poor minister around Loch Maree and he was left until he died 😦

Like

29 04 2017
McFadzean

Very pleasant. I bet that water’s cold, though.
Alen

Like

1 05 2017
mountaincoward

would be nice for a cool-down after a hard Munro on the ridge though 🙂

Liked by 1 person

21 04 2017
Anthony Kerrison

Have to agree with all those who’ve been on the menu. I tried eating breakfast outside a tent one morning at Glenbrittle, & found I was spooning Midges in with the flakes. That was in 1974, so I guess its the great-great-great grandchildren of the Curse of the Highlands biting folk now! They seem not to be able to fly against a wind, though, & there didn’t seem to be many/any on Benbecula, even on the odd calm day.

Like

22 04 2017
mountaincoward

No, I don’t remember that many in the Hebs – perhaps in the sheltered glens but that was it. And that was mainly the nastier clegs – now those I hate!

But generally, when I’m camping, I eat breakfast walking up and down!

Like

18 04 2017
tessapark1969

Been there a couple times, both in June and neither time do I recall the midges being that ferocious.. though time may have edited that bit out!

Like

21 04 2017
mountaincoward

I think you’d have noticed – we could barely take photographs. Even Richard who doesn’t get bitten badly by stuff was waving his arms everywhere!

Like

18 04 2017
underswansea

Looks like a great place to explore. Wonderful photos. I think what you call midges we call noseeums. A ferocious little insect indeed!

Like

21 04 2017
mountaincoward

noseeums – short for noseeums-but-certainly-feelums?

Like

22 04 2017
underswansea

I like that!

Like

18 04 2017
surfnslide

I swam here once on a brutally hot day and had to leg it with armfuls of clothes to the breeze above the gorge when the midges descended to feast on us like locusts!

Like

21 04 2017
mountaincoward

that conjurs up hilarious images!

Liked by 1 person

16 04 2017
Blue Sky Scotland

One place on Skye I have to admit I’ve never been despite dozens of trips to Glenbrittle. We’ve always been mountain fixated up there and funnily enough I don’t remember them being an important place to visit years ago as I have big folders filled with every kind of Scottish walk for when I’m in areas and at a loose end. No-one in my hill-walking clubs ever mentioned visiting them until fairly recently although in the numerous You Tube videos online the striking blue/ green colour in the rock pools comes across vividly in the right weather conditions and skies above.
Rather baffling to me why I haven’t been there yet as I must have been close a few times coming off hills all around that vicinity and I’m always up for handy low level diversions in bad weather to pass an hour or two..
Same here- as soon as I set foot in the Highlands in summer everything with
flying teeth, probes or a sting seems to get me every trip.

Like

17 04 2017
mountaincoward

we must be very tasty people! 😉

Like

16 04 2017
treksandtors

Midges don’t swim, so I guess once you are in you are safe!!!, you just have to get out quick and run to the next pool, continue that down the path back to the car!!

Liked by 1 person

16 04 2017
mountaincoward

but those guys were standing around with their bare backs out and stuff! 😮

Like

16 04 2017
treksandtors

Crazy people!!! They must have the skin then. I noticed last time I was up at Fort William that me and my youngest got pickled with bites, my eldest and ex wife, nothing, not even a nibble from a midge. I’d walk out the door behind them and they would descent from trees towards me!!!

Like

16 04 2017
mountaincoward

same with me and Richard – he rarely gets bitten (although midges sometimes get him) while I get bitten by everything going – ticks, clegs, midges, mosquitos -anything!

Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

