An Teallach Compleation Walk – My Photos…

28 06 2017

It took me ages to use up my film after my Munro Tops Compleation walk on An Teallach so, in the end, I just went along with Mark’s excellent photos from the day. However, I promised in my last post I’d put mine out when I got them so here they are!

Click on photos for full size/resolution

The night before we set off there was a very vague sunset with nice light on Little Loch Broom (outside the hotel) so I took a couple of shots with my film camera…

The next day on the hill I took the following photos – nothing like as many as Mark though as I was extremely pre-occupied – both with lack of fitness and also fear!


Sgurr Fiona lurking menacingly here!


Glas Meall Mor – a nice top but we had to miss it out this time

My first top of Glas Meall Liath from the top of the first Munro…

In another direction was my next Munro of Sgurr Fiona with the lovely top of Sgurr Creag an Eich off to the right which I did previously in really horrendous weather so never saw it!

The superb view of the glittery corrie loch on our descent past the pinnacles to the first top – the far ridge contains all the tops I did on my first visit. This is my joint favourite photo of the trip…

I then put my camera away for a very long time as I spent the next hour or so sick and scared! After the excitement had died down and I’d got back to my favourite ‘safe col’ on the return from Sgurr Fiona, I got the camera out again. The next photo is my other joint favourite photo from the day – the whole mountain is just a set of sharp rock triangles lined up in a row – spectacular!

A couple of last looks back to Sgurr Fiona and the pinnacles as we set off traversing the back of Bidean a’ Ghlas Thuill (the first Munro) – the cloud was still lingering a little…

We’re not going all the way back up here! The earlier pinnacly ridge looks good though…

There was lovely light during our descent back down the never-ending corrie we’d come up!

I’m amazed I took this shot as I was so out of it and knackered by then and severely struggling with my knackered hip…

After my amazing recovery (probably due to Mark’s ibuprofen) during our tea (evening meal to non-northerners), we went out to see if the sunset was better over the loch than last night’s – it was!

Manual SLR film camera first…

Then I snapped off a set with the digi-point-and-shoot (all automated though so nowt to do with me really)…

Actions

Information

16 responses

3 07 2017
tessapark1969

Only just spotted this. The sunset pictures are cracking.

Like

7 07 2017
mountaincoward

Thanks Tessa – not sure the digi ones were as ‘blue’ as the camera makes out though – digi-cameras seem to like blue for some reason!

Like

3 07 2017
Blue Sky Scotland

I’ve been without broadband for over a week now so just noticed this new post. Some spectacular mountain photos there alright. Sadly Ibuprofen is a frequent visitor to my insides as well but it does seem to work wonders when required.

Like

7 07 2017
mountaincoward

it might when you’ve eaten but it seems like it does nowt when you haven’t!

Like

1 07 2017
McFadzean

Nice pictures, Carol. I’m in the tea-time camp. And I say turnip instead of swede. And I pronounce “book” as it should be pronounced – not buck.
Alen

Like

7 07 2017
mountaincoward

ah – isn’t that Lancashirian saying boook – I say it like ‘buck’

Liked by 1 person

8 07 2017
McFadzean

Nay lass. It’s booook.

Like

8 07 2017
mountaincoward

loook – it isn’t!

Liked by 1 person

1 07 2017
chrissiedixie

Very nice!

Like

7 07 2017
mountaincoward

thanks Chrissie – shame my hip didn’t enjoy the day!

Like

29 06 2017
Gaslight Crime

Grand pictures as always.

Like

29 06 2017
mountaincoward

Thanks John – I was blessed with great subjects though!

Like

29 06 2017
underswansea

Looks like very rugged terrain. I enjoyed both the report and the photos.

Like

29 06 2017
mountaincoward

The photos make me wish I was going back up there – not sure I ever will though now

Like

30 06 2017
underswansea

Hi Carol, I can relate. Whenever I am back to one of my favourite places that took some work to get there, I always wonder if I will ever be back. I’ve always felt that way, even when I was young and in shape.

Like

30 06 2017
mountaincoward

Yeah – the more testing days are the ones I wish I could re-do even though I might not have enjoyed them at the time. I think it’s wondering whether you’d still be up to doing something which makes you want to try again!

Like

Leave a Reply

