6 Weeks Off?!

15 07 2017

15 July 2017
As you all probably know by now, I’m having hip problems, especially after my Tops Compleation in Scotland – Scotland is much, much harder walking than the rest of Britain. Well yesterday I decided I’d given it long enough to sort itself out and finally went to see the doctor…

Basically, his only advice is that I have to have 6 weeks off. Off work? that would be nice. No, off walking! When I told him I walk everywhere and need to walk to work he said even that wasn’t permissible.

He cited the fact that my worn hip has done 30 years stringent hillwalking and asked why I didn’t think I could spare 6 weeks to give it a rest? Well, one reason is that I know quite a few people who are much, much older than me and have hillwalked for much, much longer… and they don’t need a rest yet so why should I?!

Hmmmm – well I suppose I could give it a try… but when? It’s prime season right now, especially when it comes to the weather and the length of daylight. I sat haggling dates with him for a while saying that I had something major booked in September and that was only 6 weeks away so I needed to be fit – hill fit (not the same as just fit).

He suggested at one stage I could cycle everywhere instead of doing hillwalking – well, I thought I maybe could. So, this morning I got up for earlies and looked at my bike. Nope! no way could I do something as energetic as cycling up big hills at just after six in the morning! So the bike is out on earlies. Perhaps I’ll try on nights.

In the end, he got fed up of me musing on dates and chucked me out saying that was his advice and I could decide when to take it! I suppose he’s right but it will have to be winter I think. Maybe I’ll just hibernate this year?

It does rather illustrate my usual saying of: “While the mountains may always be there, your legs will not!”

Actions

Information

20 responses

18 07 2017
tessapark1969

Sorry to hear that Carol, I hope giving it a rest (whenever that is!) helps. I do find swimming helps my back and it is generally good exercise for dodgy joints as the water takes your weight.

Like

18 07 2017
mountaincoward

well I tried cycling (just 8 miles) on Monday and had a terrible night. Not only my hip bothered me but my knee was really painful and throbbing and my ankle still hurts! Not sure about this cycling thing.

Like

15 07 2017
Blue Sky Scotland

Having known you for some time via blogging posts Carol I am confident you will take his advice and slow down for 6 weeks or take up another sport to rest the affected area… not :o)
I look forward to your new blog Wheelchair mountaineer. in the future :o)
Doctors! What do they know!!!

Like

16 07 2017
mountaincoward

wheelchair mountaineer! LOL – I suppose that’s next after all the mountain bikers have torn up all our mountain paths.

Like

15 07 2017
RockChick

You poor thing! I am going through something similar. I was told recently that I have osteoarthritis in my hips and will be facing hip replacements a few years down the line, if I take things easy and give up running (and walking hundreds of miles). I use the running to maintain hill fitness, not as something that I enjoy in its own right. My theory is that if the inevitable surgery will be needed whatever I do or don’t do, then I may as well do what I can do for as long as I can. I want to be one of those little old ladies still climbing mountains at ninety, not sitting on my sofa knitting at sixty.

I hope all goes well for you and that we will get more mountain posts after September. I personally need to hear that there is light at the end of the tunnel. I hope your recovery will not be too onerous.

Congratulations on your Compleation!

Like

15 07 2017
mountaincoward

I honestly think running is fairly bad for your joints (of course I could be wrong) – but I had to give up running at all – even a few paces – pretty early on as that was the first thing to annoy my hip. Carrying heavy packs followed a bit later. Now unfortunately, just walking about is following 😦

Hope you’re fine after your hip replacement.

Like

15 07 2017
RockChick

Yeah – I know running is bad, and I will drop it in time. I just hate being told to give something up. The stubbornness inside me {which has pushed me up many a featureless boggy mountain} just makes me rebel and want to do it all the more.

Funnily enough, I find the walking, even with the heavy wild camping rucksack, is still better than a day of sitting at my desk at work.

Anyway, my hip problems are still very much in their infancy. Nothing debilitating yet. Just the odd twinge, but with the promise of worse to come in time.

All the best for yours though. Keep us posted. In all senses ☺️

Liked by 1 person

16 07 2017
mountaincoward

Actually I find the sitting for 12 hours at work (with a quick walk at dinnertime) very painful indeed and it seems to be causing me far more problems. Also I know how fast my father became immobile when he stopped in more to look after my mother and that scares me!

Have you had any physio yet? I’ve written a couple of posts about it under my ‘health’ category and mention that my glutes weren’t being used properly. When I strengthened those and learned to use them all the time, it staved off my mobility problems for a couple of years at least.

Like

15 07 2017
markadams99

Do try swimming. Nothing strenuous, just flexing.

Like

15 07 2017
mountaincoward

Yeah I discussed that with the doc and he said that was fine. I don’t enjoy it much though. I’m going to get cycling again next week.

Like

15 07 2017
McFadzean

Hmmm. Most people who have hip replacements have led very inactive lives. I must admit, I don’t base that on any scientific evidence, merely on the people I know who have had trouble with their hips.
Alen

Like

15 07 2017
mountaincoward

me and Richard have been noticing the opposite unfortunately. Many of my walking friends and fellow bloggers have had exactly the same problems we’re both having. We know lots of sofa-surfers who are in great health. Doesn’t seem fair does it?

Like

15 07 2017
chrissiedixie

You sound as bad as me! 😀

Like

15 07 2017
mountaincoward

ageing’s horrid isn’t it! I can’t understand why some people do okay though and the rest of us crumble.

Like

15 07 2017
mbc1955

You have to weigh up in your mind whether six weeks’ potentially painful walking in prime conditions is worth the many more than six weeks of walking that you may be jeopardising. Not a choice I envy you.

Like

15 07 2017
mountaincoward

I don’t think it will make it noticeably worse putting it off and I’m not in much pain – I just can’t walk properly. I do worry about the damage to other bits of my leg downstream though and all the extra work on my good leg. It really will have to be at least late autumn though I think. I’m going to do a lot of cycling on days I would have walked but the September thing is booked and paid for.

Like

15 07 2017
Gaslight Crime

Had the same problem with my ankles and arthritis. You have my sympathy.

Like

15 07 2017
mountaincoward

It’s all very irritating isn’t it!

Like

15 07 2017
Gaslight Crime

It is, though the magnetic bracelet definitely works for me – placebo or not.

Like

15 07 2017
mountaincoward

it’ll need to be a big bracelet to get around my hip! 😉

Like

Leave a Reply

