New House – The Good… and the Maybe…

29 08 2017

There are some really great things about my new house in its ‘proper rural’ location – my old house used to be in a rural location but sadly is no longer 😦 As there are only 8 houses and a farm in my new ‘village’, hopefully it will be some time before it befalls the same fate…

The Good
The first is that I’ve managed to get myself into one of the best sunset locations in England from what I gather – sunsets over the Solway Firth. This one a couple of weeks back was a beauty…


Sunset over Criffel

So, that’s some of the good. Not sure whether this next is the good or the bad!

Eeeek! The Birds! and they’re looking straight in at me!!

There’s approximately 300 starlings frequent the field directly behind the house and they swarm (or murmur apparently) all over the place – fascinating to watch until maybe they watch you!

Actions

Information

22 responses

11 09 2017
McFadzean

Looks great, Carol. Glad you finally got moved. Don’t worry about the birds. I’ve got a snake in my tool shed,
Cheers, Alen

Like

12 09 2017
mountaincoward

is it a dangerous one?

Like

12 09 2017
McFadzean

I’m not sure. I think it’s a type of adder, I’ve only seen it once, when it shot down a hole in the concrete floor. If I suddenly stop posting stuff you can assume it definitely is a dangerous one.

Like

12 09 2017
mountaincoward

LOL. I’d love a non-biting pet snake in my shed as I love snakes but wouldn’t be so keen if it was lurking and was dangerous

Liked by 1 person

8 09 2017
tessapark1969

LOL re only having the one bum! Glad you are settling in.

Like

8 09 2017
mountaincoward

It’s lovely and peaceful – the only drawback is, in winter, it isn’t as warm as my one click and the central heating is on house!

Like

4 09 2017
treksandtors

Arrrr. Criffel. The one you see from all the northern parts of the Lakes. I was stood on Skiddaw last week and pointed to Criffel so my boys could make out a part of scotland!!

Like

5 09 2017
mountaincoward

What day? I made it up to the summit of Skiddaw on Wednesday last week but shouldn’t have been there as I was ill at the time. I was much, much worse for the next few days after that!

Like

5 09 2017
treksandtors

It was Tuesday 29th August that we went up to Skiddaw via the Longside ridge. Lovely walk.

Like

6 09 2017
mountaincoward

Definitely the best way up!

Like

1 09 2017
Mark

Well you finally made the move. Being off grid for some untilies makes life interesting. A bit more grity, so to speak. I’m sure you’ll get the hang of it after the first winter. Have you sorted the septic tank? Did it myself, with a bit of drafted in help, totally crazy but it did save us £6k. I’m pretty handy with a shovel!

I’ve just had 4 weeks on Lismore. I quit my nursing post and am now doing a few decorating jobs. There’s a surprising amount of work about for a small island.A general lack of tradesmen as well.

You can’t beat a west coast sunset.

Like

1 09 2017
mountaincoward

Well I’ve been living here on and off between shifts since 12 December and gradually moving more stuff up here. I’m getting all my correspondence addresses changed now though and only go back to Yorkshire for my shifts.

Still have to sort the septic tank (well pipework) – my last quote was just shy of £2000. I’m going to get another quote and one bit of the work doesn’t need doing now as I took one toilet out. I don’t really need two as I only have the one bum! 😉 Hoping to get solar panels when I have some money from the sale of my old house – important with an all-electric house I’d say.

I can imagine there’s a huge shortage of tradesmen on Lismore – they can even be quite hard to get here. Well done you for quitting and doing that instead! I need to retire as work is making me severely ill!

Like

1 09 2017
RockChick

Awwwww…. The Solway Firth! We are in Allonby. Are you anywhere near there?

Congratulations on the move. Enjoy the sunsets. It can’t be anything to do with Sellafield pollution, can it?

Like

1 09 2017
mountaincoward

Nope – not far from Wigton (love Allonby though) – I don’t really want to put much on here as it’s public

If you ever want to meet up or anything for a stroll or something, you can use my ‘contact me’ page 🙂

I think the main reason the sunsets are good here are, as said by my friend Bob below, because we’re on the western seaboard.

Like

14 09 2017
RockChick

Ah happy memories – I used to commute through Wigton to Carlisle every day before they built that bypass. I will contact you when I am up next. Living in London at the moment, it might not be until Christmas, but I might manage a few days before then. Who knows. Will move back permanently eventually. Take care of the hip meanwhile!

Like

14 09 2017
mountaincoward

are you working in London?

Like

30 08 2017
Blue Sky Scotland

A very different post to your mountain ones. Enjoyed it. Sunsets provide a real uplift to the heart and mood. Welcome to the western seaboard of the UK :o). Used to get huge numbers of starlings roosting growing up but hardly see any now other than a handful occasionally in the garden. Hope you enjoy your new abode.

Like

31 08 2017
mountaincoward

I never saw more than the odd starling in Yorkshire and haven’t really seen any anywhere else EXCEPT for the Carlisle area where I’ve seen them doing their fancy shapes in the sky as I drive down the M6 in an evening.

It’s nice to be near the Solway – a fantastic area full of nature reserves. It’s also nice to be able to see what you guys are up to in Scotland at a glance! 😉

Like

29 08 2017
chrissiedixie

Hope you’ll be very happy in your new house!

Like

31 08 2017
mountaincoward

I’m loving it so far. It is more expensive though as it’s not on mains gas so is an all-electric house. Mains gas will probably always be the cheapest heating option.

Like

29 08 2017
Jim R

Did you see Hitchcock’s The Birds?

Like

31 08 2017
mountaincoward

I did – several times – and this really reminded me of it! They seem pretty tame and friendly though… so far!

Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

