Anyone Want my Place on Tower Ridge with Steve Fallon Guides?

12 09 2017

I’ve had to give up my place for Tower Ridge on the North Face of Ben Nevis (which I’ve looked forward to all year since I booked it in January) as my needing replaced hip just isn’t up to it now. Date Wed 20 Sep 2017 The link on Steve’s website is:

http://www.stevenfallon.co.uk/guide-tower-ridge.html

and the price (as you’ll see on there) is £99. Guide ratio 1-3.

Should be a great day out…

Obviously, if no-one takes it, I’ll lose my money.
Would have made a great write-up too 😦

Actions

Information

15 responses

17 09 2017
tessapark1969

Sorry to hear that Carol.

Like

18 09 2017
mountaincoward

Yeah – I’d looked forward to that since January – would have made a blinding post!

Like

13 09 2017
Paul Shorrock

Sorry to hear that Carol. People I’ve known who have had the hip op have had their lives transformed – just a temporary blip until you’re back on the mountains.

I’ve done Tower Ridge three times, though sadly never in winter – it’s a great day out. Get over your op, build up the strength and it will be waiting for you next year 😉

Like

13 09 2017
mountaincoward

I was wondering whether people have been able to climb well after the op do you know? Climbing puts quite a bit of force on your legs as I’m sure you know

Like

13 09 2017
RockChick

Poor you! I would love to, as it is on my to-do list, but it is too short notice and mid-week, so for me it will have to wait until next year.

Good luck with the hip. Please feel free to PM me about it since it is sadly also on my to-do list. Take heart that Chris Bonington climbed The Old Man Of Hoy aged 80 with a new hip!

Like

13 09 2017
mountaincoward

I’ll give you a shout when my hip’s fixed and I rebook it then! I thought mid-week would be a problem at such short notice.

Very encouraging about Chris Bonington – didn’t know that. Have you ever bumped into him on the northern fells? I’m up there a lot and keep expecting to as they’re his local fells and he loves their solitude

Like

13 09 2017
RockChick

Not on the fells, but he came to our work to give a talk. Such an inspiring man.

Like

13 09 2017
chrissiedixie

That’s a real shame that you can’t manage it, Carol 😦

Like

13 09 2017
mountaincoward

I’m gutted – I’d looked forward to it all year. Also, I was looking forward to the shock post I’d have been able to put out – would have been very exciting!

Like

13 09 2017
Gaslight Crime

Make a speedy recovery

Like

13 09 2017
mountaincoward

Thanks John – I think the big holdup will be how soon I can get a surgeon to operate!

Like

14 09 2017
Gaslight Crime

Hope its speedy for you.

Like

14 09 2017
mountaincoward

I hope I’m back to being speedy afterwards 😉

Like

13 09 2017
Blue Sky Scotland

Sorry to hear you can’t make it Carol. Only plus side is that the weather has been appalling this summer with hardly a dry day for months. Too old and unmotivated myself to be interested in Ben Nevis climb. It would be fairly serious in wet weather.

Like

13 09 2017
mountaincoward

I’m thinking the weather could be pretty bad – we’ve just started getting America’s left-over hurricanes!

Like

Leave a Reply

