2023 Stats Post/Happy New Year!

31 12 2023

Feel free to add your own stats in the comments below…

Lots of hills this year but no Scottish trips at all – in fact, only 2 trips in all…

Wainwright Reascents: 292
Wainwright Outlying: 36
Other: 162 – most of them Birketts
Hill grand total: 490

Scottish trips: 0
English trips: 2
Before-work hills: 1
Gills explored: 0

Outdoor climbs: 1 Severe, 1 V.Diff, 1 H.Diff, 2 Diffs, 1 Moderate

Broken Bones: 1 finger (gardening accident) – plus of course I was still recovering from my wrist break until March

Getting challenged on a trespass:  2.  No.1 – the silly thing was that, yes, it was a private wood and I knew that but the person challenging me had nothing to do with the wood – it wasn’t theirs!  No.2 by a farmer who didn’t want me to use a perfectly good vehicle track to cut across to the road at the start of a re-walk of the Bannisdale Round and sent me the long way round.  As I was very late in the day starting and it’s a long round, I wasn’t too chuffed.

This year’s main achievement was another ‘Across Scotland in a Day Walk’ from Ardgay to Ullapool with the first ten miles being done by pedal bike against a gale!  I found the walking part of this very enjoyable and am planning at least a couple more of these before my legs finally fall off!

This year (up north at any rate) has again been absolutely dire weather-wise – I think this will be the pattern from now on unfortunately as it has certainly been dire for at least the last five years.  It was consistently cold, wet and windy apart from a quick warm and dry month in spring and a week at the start of October.

Due to the above mentioned weather, I’ve been staying fairly local for most of my walking and on the drier hills as I hate eroding hills and paths in wet weather.  Consequently, I’ve again done many of my local favourites very many times indeed, e.g. Binsey/Whittas Park 35 times, Meal Fell 31 times and Great and Little Cockups 27 times.  I’ve enjoyed them greatly though, even in dire weather, which after all is the point!

New walks done this year were down Swindale – Howes and the Naddle Round (which I will write up when I get my photos back).  I also nipped up Knock Pike in the Eden Valley after dropping Richard off at Appleby Station to go home – it was a couple of months ago and exceedingly wet walking!

I was finally allowed to fully retire in August – I’d been ill all year up till then so very glad to do so.  Immediately I retired, my health improved back to what it should be – proves you shouldn’t be working after 65 and probably not even up to that age either!  Of course, I’m now doing what I was aiming to do all along and hitting both the tea-shops and the hills almost every day 🙂

My major time-consumer and bug-bear this year has been the house clearance of my mother’s in Skipton.  I’ve been over more or less every fortnight since April right up to Christmas and it’s been a truly dreadful job – and it’s still ongoing 😦

My hip has borne up well to the increasing hillwalking but is sometimes clunky which it really shouldn’t be at only 5 years old.  I’m wondering whether I did some damage on my fall last Christmas.

My aim next year is mainly to start collecting Birketts – I’ve probably done nearly all of them already but need to get a book or something to check.  I did a new one the other day though after spotting a vague hill on Uldale Common and assuming it probably was one so blasting off up it.  An online check in the evening confirmed it was – Mickle Rigg.  I’d also like to start getting back up to Scotland again too…

Hope you all have a great 2024 and thank you for reading 🙂

You’re reading a post by Mountain Coward. If you’ve enjoyed this post, be sure to follow The Mountain Coward from my homepage


Actions

Information

27 responses

2 02 2024
Alli Templeton

Another rich and varied year for you then, Carol, with the added big life change of retiring. Things will be on the up now, and I’m glad you feel so much better having given up work. Despite the rotten weather you seem to have achieved a lot, and I’m not surprised the highlight was the across Scotland day walk. That was truly epic, and I still remember reading about it open-mouthed. Here’s to a new year and many more inspiring walks in 2024. 🙂

Like

3 02 2024
mountaincoward

There’s just something about walking right across the middle of a country from coast to coast in a day. It gives you challenge in abundance (you can’t back out or fail to finish really) and it gives you lots of wilderness – which I love.

Liked by 1 person

3 02 2024
Alli Templeton

I can imagine what an amazing feat that is, and the wilderness really appeals too. You should be very proud of yourself – I’m still incredibly impressed! 🙂

Like

4 02 2024
mountaincoward

you can come with me on this year’s if you like! 😉

Liked by 1 person

5 02 2024
Alli Templeton

What a lovely thought – although I very much doubt I’d be able to keep up with you – my hiking hero! 😀

Like

5 02 2024
mountaincoward

Richard will be accompanying me… as far as the hotel at the start – then he will be staying there for a couple of days, strolling the riverbanks, eating soft ice-cream etc.

Liked by 1 person

6 02 2024
Alli Templeton

Very civilised! 🙂

Like

6 02 2024
mountaincoward

That’s what he thinks too!

Liked by 1 person

6 02 2024
Alli Templeton

🙂

Like

27 01 2024
surfnslide

All the best for 2024!

Like

27 01 2024
mountaincoward

thanks – and you – but I’m sure you have lots of great things planned for the year!

Liked by 1 person

9 01 2024
underswansea

You had a very good year. I enjoyed reading and seeing the photos. All the best in 2024.

Like

9 01 2024
mountaincoward

I’ve made a good start on this one too – and the weather has finally dried up! It’s b*** cold though! At least we see the sun sometimes while it’s cold.

Like

2 01 2024
treksandtors

Happy New Year

Like

2 01 2024
mountaincoward

Thanks – hope you have a good one too!

Like

2 01 2024
Jesper, Biveros Bulletin

Happy New Year 🙂

Like

2 01 2024
mountaincoward

Thank you – hope you have a good 2024 too

Liked by 1 person

1 01 2024
tessapark1969

Happy new year! Blimey that is a lot of hills. My stats post will be nowhere near as impressive but then I do live in Kent!

Like

1 01 2024
mountaincoward

Where you live makes all the difference – which is why I retired to up here!

Like

1 01 2024
John Bainbridge

You’ve done better than me, though we were clobbered with some health problems too. I don’t think anyone should be working past 60/

Like

1 01 2024
mountaincoward

It would be nice to have no-one work after 60. But I thought it would have been acceptable to take the ladies’ age up to 62 and the men’s down to join it…

Liked by 1 person

2 01 2024
John Bainbridge

Yes. Interesting that the politicians who increase the pemsion age can afford to retire whenever they feel like it on taxpayer-funded handouts/

Liked by 1 person

2 01 2024
mountaincoward

Very predictable too!

Like

1 01 2024
bob

I am amazed that you have almost 500 hill ascents this year Carol. Well done. The word ‘driven’ certainly applies to you if you are out every day. By comparison I’m a one day a week rambler although everyone is different and I’ve never been an intensely prolific hill walker, preferring to wait for only good days and deliberately avoiding huge multi hill hikes where possible. Each of us happy with our own day’s outing. I’ve enjoyed mainly good sunny weather this year but that’s because I wait five days for a good one which would never suit you. Do you actually need a bed at night or do you just sleep upright in a battery box recharging? Happy New Year anyway and best wishes for 2024. Bob. BSS.
PS. even in my 20s and 30s I never managed 500 hill ascents a year… 100 munros in 1983 being my best tally and out every weekend… But I do have a TV and 100s of box sets still to watch :o)

Like

1 01 2024
mountaincoward

Scottish hill ascents are different though – those are more inaccessible, a longer walk in/out, often much higher hills and rougher, more pathless ground. I wouldn’t be able to do 500 of your hills in a year that’s for sure!

I don’t have a TV but I do have DVD boxsets and watch a couple of hours of those every night to wind down.

Like

1 01 2024
Bitchy After 60

May 2024 bring better weather for us all. Happy New Year.

Like

1 01 2024
mountaincoward

Thanks and hope you have a good year and good weather too. I suspect we won’t to be honest…

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.